Barbu Rules

Online Barbu

Online Barbu Ladder

Barbu History

Barbu Articles

Barbu Events

Links, Trivia, Photos

Online Barbu Ladder

Submitting results

Ladder results are submitted automatically by the BarbuWeb server. Please do not send in any results manually.

More information

How the rating system works


Many people have been contributed to the creation of the ranking system. However, special thanks are due to:

Gerben Dirksen, for having the idea, devising the original formula, writing the first program to calculate ratings, administering it for most of the first year, and providing useful advice and mathematical assistance ever since.

Graham Hazel, without whose software none of it would have been possible.

Chris Dixon, for sorting out the problem with serving that had been causing anguish for five years.

Stephen Frechette and Aashish Welling, for giving us a brand-new web-based version of the software in 2020.

Steve Altus, David Beer, Lew Stansby, Neil Trentham and Giles Woodruff, for providing advice and comments on the ranking system.

Barbu Heroes

Monthly winners, 2023

January: Zach Grossack

Annual winners, 2003-22

2022 ladder: Mike Rice

2021 ladder: Steven De Donder

2020 ladder: Steven De Donder

2019 ladder: Steven De Donder

2018 ladder: Mark Tynkov

2017 ladder: Doron Limor

2016 ladder: Neil Trentham

2016 “Zester”: Dan Hoffenberg

2015 ladder: Alessio Isaia

2015 “Zester”: Dan Hoffenberg

2014 ladder: Doron Limor

2014 “Zester”: Dean Pokorny

2013 ladder: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2013 “Zester”: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2012 ladder: Ben Handley   -Pritchard

2012 “Zester”: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2011 ladder: Fabio Lo Presti

2011 “Zester”: Willie Whitaker

2011 “Apple core”: Steve Altus

2010 ladder: Steve Altus

2010 “Zester”: Andrew Garnett

2010 “Apple core”: Steve Altus

2009 ladder: Mike Rice

2009 “Zester”: Doron Limor

2009 “Apple core”: Michael Wilkinson

2008 ladder: John Therkelsen

2008 “Zester”: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2008 “Apple core”: Fabio Lo Presti

2007 ladder: Mike Rice

2007 “Zester”: Martin Garvey

2007 “Apple core”: Tony Nunn

2006 ladder: Francesco Mazzadi

2006 “Zester”: Martin Garvey

2006 “Apple core”: David Grainger

2005 ladder: Jérome Rombaut

2005 “Zester”: Martin Garvey

2005 “Apple core”: Jérome Rombaut

2004 ladder: Joel Wooldridge

2004 “Zester”: Neil Trentham

2004 “Apple core”: Joel Wooldridge

2003 ladder: JoAnna Stansby

Ladder, January 2023

This competition finished on the last day of January 2023. Congratulations to Zachary Grossack.

Minimum games to qualify: 6.

Pos Name Ladder
Current playing strength Games Wins Avg.
Avg. playing strengh of oppo Avg. score adj. for oppo's strength
1Zachary Grossack1164.4108.12454%164.7498-25688%16.0180.6
2Mark Tynkov1136.7107.42868%150.2507-23982%-6.6143.5
3Tracey B1121.766.04149%111.9324-20683%10.2122.1
4Steven De Donder1104.5107.93954%103.9431-45374%1.2105.1
5Ben Kristensen1095.5105.42945%144.8498-6586%-45.499.5
6Geoff Hampson1086.394.95551%96.5396-39578%-10.286.4
7Gaetano Damiata1073.063.65328%50.9312-28468%22.173.0
8Fabio Quai1068.878.111432%51.5403-35162%17.368.8
9Josh Richards1058.610.82138%106.2453-24967%-38.367.9
10Sami Casanova1055.355.65328%49.8343-23164%5.655.3
11Chris Dixon1052.758.52030%59.2290-25570%3.362.5
12John Diamond1052.168.52227%60.3323-25164%-1.159.2
13Dan Hoffenberg1045.561.11331%98.5295-14477%-27.770.8
14Nicole Gilmore1043.955.41631%89.4324-13269%-30.359.2
15Rosalind Lin1041.227.72931%58.0282-26976%-15.142.9
16David Halasi1034.7111.3729%119.4298-12986%-27.991.5
17Mike Rice1030.2106.21145%106.0333-1082%-52.353.7
18Clovis Dehaye1028.759.61020%29.2237-23770%26.055.2
19Kit Woolsey1028.666.74630%40.3408-28557%-11.728.6
20Fabrizio Farnesi1028.145.2667%165.237311100%-79.785.5
21Federico Bianchi1026.032.74117%-6.1250-30454%32.226.1
22Jill Levin1024.533.56013%-9.5275-31957%34.024.5
23Benoit Guiot1024.426.84829%19.3481-46756%5.124.4
-John Parsons1019.851.8450%73.0201-22675%15.788.7
-Aaron Jones1017.919.01100%250.0250250100%67.7317.7
-Luc Bellicaud1015.752.810%240.0240240100%37.9277.9
-Francesco Mazzadi1013.736.9560%25.4206-19160%24.149.5
24Beppe Mistretta1012.444.71118%-11.6215-24355%33.722.1
25Stan Schenker1011.716.26917%7.9303-28852%3.811.7
-Michael Wilkinson1009.983.2250%121.515588100%-33.388.2
-Arm Pontecom1004.680.510%92.09292100%-10.681.4
-Filippo Lagostena998.9-6.540%-26.3163-31675%21.1-5.1
26Alessandro Colombo997.110.43339%-4.8284-42761%1.9-2.9
27Giorgio Caccia995.514.82421%-25.2270-38046%20.3-5.0
-Amit Zahar994.4-101.010%-97.0-97-970%-2.7-99.7
-Bud Stuart989.4-43.4520%-20.4155-21640%-18.0-38.4
-Migry Zur Campanile989.176.330%-115.0-45-1950%50.2-64.8
28Patric Sierzega989.1-15.49925%-9.1384-48746%-1.9-10.9
29Corey Robinson984.6-27.01315%47.8363-14154%-71.8-24.0
-Michael Empeigne983.4-372.510%-319.0-319-3190%23.7-295.3
30Gianluca Lodato979.94.03520%-36.1262-40043%15.7-20.4
31Gabriel Feldstein977.6-76.660%-40.867-19850%-27.3-68.2
32Matt Dobbs974.1-19.67123%-0.1357-55155%-25.8-25.9
33Joan Clark973.77.93415%-29.8244-27041%3.0-26.8
34Sally Woolsey962.9-53.62030%-6.1259-24545%-37.9-44.0
35Jaron Marcus962.8-48.94328%9.0277-28858%-46.2-37.3
36Hilto 37962.517.51718%-15.0208-30353%-33.7-48.7
37Umberto Prestini960.5-34.41921%-53.1281-51947%5.0-48.1
38Tamara Hoylaerts960.4-7.7147%-77.0193-27329%18.6-58.4
-Nancy Stuart958.7-193.050%-181.8-129-3080%32.4-149.4
-Keiran Crowe-Mai957.6-45.530%-209.3-122-2800%-42.9-252.2
39Sarina Chaiken938.0-102.8205%-78.1182-39030%4.4-73.6
40Christine Rebardo917.5-112.11414%-106.6134-43929%-15.1-121.7
41Giorgio Peterlongo903.4-82.2439%-114.4189-46433%17.5-96.8
42Beryel Dorscht877.8-88.55210%-128.5342-59125%6.2-122.3
43Barbie W855.3-99.94219%-114.4237-53231%-30.8-145.2
44Jackie Smith843.3-187.51018%-124.5218-68726%-32.2-156.7
45Maree Crawford840.6-168.7375%-98.2220-38524%-62.6-160.9
46Lori M814.0-203.1613%-159.6207-57218%-26.4-186.0

Hall of Fame, January 2023

Highest scores achieved over the period:

Name Result
 Mark Tynkov507
 Ben Kristensen498
 Zachary Grossack498
 Benoit Guiot481
 Josh Richards453

Hall of Shame, January 2023

Lowest scores over the period:

Name Result
 Jackie Smith-687
 Jackie Smith-618
 Beryel Dorscht-591
 Lori M-572
 Jackie Smith-572