Barbu Rules

Online Barbu

Online Barbu Ladder

Barbu History

Barbu Articles

Barbu Events

Links, Trivia, Photos

Online Barbu Ladder

Submitting results

Ladder results are submitted automatically by the BarbuWeb server. Please do not send in any results manually.

More information

How the rating system works


Many people have been contributed to the creation of the ranking system. However, special thanks are due to:

Gerben Dirksen, for having the idea, devising the original formula, writing the first program to calculate ratings, administering it for most of the first year, and providing useful advice and mathematical assistance ever since.

Graham Hazel, without whose software none of it would have been possible.

Chris Dixon, for sorting out the problem with serving that had been causing anguish for five years.

Stephen Frechette and Aashish Welling, for giving us a brand-new web-based version of the software in 2020.

Steve Altus, David Beer, Lew Stansby, Neil Trentham and Giles Woodruff, for providing advice and comments on the ranking system.

Barbu Heroes

Monthly winners, 2024

January: Geoff Hampson

Annual winners, 2003-23

2023 ladder: Ben Kristensen

2022 ladder: Mike Rice

2021 ladder: Steven De Donder

2020 ladder: Steven De Donder

2019 ladder: Steven De Donder

2018 ladder: Mark Tynkov

2017 ladder: Doron Limor

2016 ladder: Neil Trentham

2016 “Zester”: Dan Hoffenberg

2015 ladder: Alessio Isaia

2015 “Zester”: Dan Hoffenberg

2014 ladder: Doron Limor

2014 “Zester”: Dean Pokorny

2013 ladder: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2013 “Zester”: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2012 ladder: Ben Handley   -Pritchard

2012 “Zester”: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2011 ladder: Fabio Lo Presti

2011 “Zester”: Willie Whitaker

2011 “Apple core”: Steve Altus

2010 ladder: Steve Altus

2010 “Zester”: Andrew Garnett

2010 “Apple core”: Steve Altus

2009 ladder: Mike Rice

2009 “Zester”: Doron Limor

2009 “Apple core”: Michael Wilkinson

2008 ladder: John Therkelsen

2008 “Zester”: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2008 “Apple core”: Fabio Lo Presti

2007 ladder: Mike Rice

2007 “Zester”: Martin Garvey

2007 “Apple core”: Tony Nunn

2006 ladder: Francesco Mazzadi

2006 “Zester”: Martin Garvey

2006 “Apple core”: David Grainger

2005 ladder: Jérome Rombaut

2005 “Zester”: Martin Garvey

2005 “Apple core”: Jérome Rombaut

2004 ladder: Joel Wooldridge

2004 “Zester”: Neil Trentham

2004 “Apple core”: Joel Wooldridge

2003 ladder: JoAnna Stansby

Ladder, January 2024

This competition finished on the last day of January 2024. Congratulations to Geoff Hampson.

Minimum games to qualify: 6.

Pos Name Ladder
Current playing strength Games Wins Avg.
Avg. playing strengh of oppo Avg. score adj. for oppo's strength
1Geoff Hampson1091.2102.21942%86.0289-16784%25.1111.1
2Rosalind Lin1088.741.22836%67.5343-25868%25.693.1
3Dana Berkowitz1083.849.22846%65.2356-25768%22.888.0
4Steven De Donder1077.590.05034%61.4404-25462%16.277.5
5Ben Kristensen1069.4103.91520%89.5410-23367%8.197.6
6Fabrizio Guttadauro1066.741.52733%55.7254-16267%15.070.7
7Fabio Quai1063.864.39930%32.4319-32064%31.463.8
8Stan Schenker1061.28.34139%31.3331-27661%30.161.5
9Marco Novara1060.257.07130%29.8303-39459%30.460.2
10Mark Tynkov1059.684.11136%77.0293-8273%28.8105.8
11Marco Prestini1050.443.56032%17.4426-38758%33.150.4
12John Diamond1049.266.21724%36.2151-13371%27.763.8
13Tsahi Maimon1047.68.4650%120.0329-11867%24.7144.7
14Beppe Mistretta1046.248.68823%17.4365-35252%28.846.2
15Migry Zur Campanile1043.363.31155%47.3232-15264%29.676.9
16Zachary Grossack1043.173.11631%38.9418-24050%19.258.1
17Gaetano Damiata1041.950.710725%11.6388-36055%30.341.9
18Matt Dobbs1041.929.11741%44.8251-34376%9.654.4
19Patric Sierzega1041.932.66725%20.1417-45357%21.841.9
-Alessio Isaia1037.770.9560%122.0264-3280%14.6136.6
-Giles Woodruff1034.164.8450%127.326322100%25.9153.2
20Jill Levin1032.834.14840%-3.0321-35048%35.832.8
21Giorgio Caccia1028.87.14916%-7.0373-25453%35.828.8
22Benoit Guiot1024.729.5667%47.0361-36067%28.175.1
23Sami Casanova1022.347.9933%13.2261-20956%33.646.8
24JoAnna Stansby1020.730.95919%0.5318-39151%20.120.7
25Jaron Marcus1020.523.710525%1.6339-48450%18.820.5
26Federico Bianchi1016.331.84726%-17.0312-49655%33.316.3
27Nicole Gilmore1013.951.5633%19.8263-19167%22.442.2
28Gianluca Lodato1012.612.98318%-24.3315-42442%37.012.6
-Tracey B1011.951.8520%4.8113-23580%38.142.9
-Josh Richards1007.010.11100%130.0130130100%-6.6123.4
-Arm Pontecom1005.845.9333%23.7177-10133%10.934.6
-Mike Rice1004.098.230%-5.387-6433%28.923.6
29John McAllister1003.80.41118%-13.2267-11818%20.06.8
-Barbie W1002.0-101.0250%-2.5280-28550%20.217.7
30Fabrizio Farnesi1001.817.72528%2.6268-25048%-0.62.0
-Clovis Dehaye999.254.030%-38.758-10433%33.9-4.7
-Goran Cekol993.167.020%-95.0-52-1380%33.9-61.1
-Sarina Chaiken991.4-52.220%-92.022-20650%15.4-76.6
31Dan Hoffenberg990.141.680%-48.5134-22038%25.4-23.1
32Chris Dixon989.547.81421%-43.7262-41350%28.2-15.5
-Adam Grossack988.347.120%-109.543-26250%5.0-104.5
-Michael Wilkinson983.568.950%-61.47-18520%1.6-59.8
33John Parsons983.125.760%-76.8125-23817%25.4-51.4
34Alessandro Colombo979.5-6.28513%-53.5230-41840%33.0-20.5
35Hilto 37978.44.2813%-68.947-22938%18.4-50.5
-Gabriel Feldstein976.0-72.950%-103.054-27540%16.0-87.0
36Joan Clark974.6-1.8180%-50.4184-36133%18.5-31.9
37Maree Crawford972.4-52.34018%-36.9289-39950%9.2-27.7
-Tamara Hoylaerts971.1-19.450%-148.085-31520%43.3-104.7
38Giancarlo Rosselli958.9-2.61010%-96.485-50240%17.5-78.9
39Umberto Prestini952.4-13.82928%-73.1346-51834%23.4-49.6
40Giorgio Peterlongo945.2-81.02917%-87.4195-38334%30.3-57.2
41Jackie Smith930.7-72.85616%-87.2288-57834%17.9-69.3
42Beryel Dorscht891.0-98.3284%-145.3191-60118%30.8-114.5

Hall of Fame, January 2024

Highest scores achieved over the period:

Name Result
 Marco Prestini426
 Zachary Grossack418
 Patric Sierzega417
 Ben Kristensen410
 Steven De Donder404

Hall of Shame, January 2024

Lowest scores over the period:

Name Result
 Beryel Dorscht-601
 Beryel Dorscht-580
 Jackie Smith-578
 Jackie Smith-551
 Umberto Prestini-518