Barbu Rules

Online Barbu

Online Barbu Ladder

Barbu History

Barbu Articles

Barbu Events

Links, Trivia, Photos

Online Barbu Ladder

Submitting results

Ladder results are submitted automatically by the BarbuWeb server. Please do not send in any results manually.

More information

How the rating system works


Many people have been contributed to the creation of the ranking system. However, special thanks are due to:

Gerben Dirksen, for having the idea, devising the original formula, writing the first program to calculate ratings, administering it for most of the first year, and providing useful advice and mathematical assistance ever since.

Graham Hazel, without whose software none of it would have been possible.

Chris Dixon, for sorting out the problem with serving that had been causing anguish for five years.

Stephen Frechette and Aashish Welling, for giving us a brand-new web-based version of the software in 2020.

Steve Altus, David Beer, Lew Stansby, Neil Trentham and Giles Woodruff, for providing advice and comments on the ranking system.

Barbu Heroes

Monthly winners, 2023

January: Zach Grossack

February: Zach Grossack

March: Geoff Hampson

Annual winners, 2003-22

2022 ladder: Mike Rice

2021 ladder: Steven De Donder

2020 ladder: Steven De Donder

2019 ladder: Steven De Donder

2018 ladder: Mark Tynkov

2017 ladder: Doron Limor

2016 ladder: Neil Trentham

2016 “Zester”: Dan Hoffenberg

2015 ladder: Alessio Isaia

2015 “Zester”: Dan Hoffenberg

2014 ladder: Doron Limor

2014 “Zester”: Dean Pokorny

2013 ladder: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2013 “Zester”: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2012 ladder: Ben Handley   -Pritchard

2012 “Zester”: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2011 ladder: Fabio Lo Presti

2011 “Zester”: Willie Whitaker

2011 “Apple core”: Steve Altus

2010 ladder: Steve Altus

2010 “Zester”: Andrew Garnett

2010 “Apple core”: Steve Altus

2009 ladder: Mike Rice

2009 “Zester”: Doron Limor

2009 “Apple core”: Michael Wilkinson

2008 ladder: John Therkelsen

2008 “Zester”: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2008 “Apple core”: Fabio Lo Presti

2007 ladder: Mike Rice

2007 “Zester”: Martin Garvey

2007 “Apple core”: Tony Nunn

2006 ladder: Francesco Mazzadi

2006 “Zester”: Martin Garvey

2006 “Apple core”: David Grainger

2005 ladder: Jérome Rombaut

2005 “Zester”: Martin Garvey

2005 “Apple core”: Jérome Rombaut

2004 ladder: Joel Wooldridge

2004 “Zester”: Neil Trentham

2004 “Apple core”: Joel Wooldridge

2003 ladder: JoAnna Stansby

Ladder, March 2023

This competition finished on the last day of March 2023. Congratulations to Geoff Hampson.

Minimum games to qualify: 6.

Pos Name Ladder
Current playing strength Games Wins Avg.
Avg. playing strengh of oppo Avg. score adj. for oppo's strength
1Geoff Hampson1086.388.24652%84.2302-32680%2.286.4
2Steven De Donder1086.096.63047%86.6375-27770%2.589.1
3Fabio Quai1074.277.112537%65.6376-36470%8.774.2
4Mark Tynkov1073.394.22236%94.6432-15377%-11.383.3
5Kit Woolsey1062.664.12642%86.7290-46785%-19.667.0
6Chris Dixon1055.255.33037%48.4316-21063%8.757.1
7Fabrizio Farnesi1052.246.65233%56.4295-28771%-4.152.2
8Tracey B1043.352.58033%37.4417-49558%5.943.3
9David Halasi1038.3111.8667%173.826375100%-57.3116.6
10Rosalind Lin1038.019.62938%50.3441-29466%-10.739.6
11Benoit Guiot1037.227.22433%50.0331-38767%-9.240.8
12Dan Hoffenberg1036.956.52843%83.3385-28871%-44.538.7
13Nicole Gilmore1029.054.21436%53.6212-15871%-10.842.8
14Federico Bianchi1025.834.24321%11.3416-34956%14.625.9
15John Diamond1025.561.91136%39.5260-24464%5.745.2
-Alessio Isaia1024.881.6540%82.6328-8760%7.389.9
16Hilto 371024.419.51724%24.1308-34253%7.631.6
17Migry Zur Campanile1023.076.51136%-0.5280-37745%41.440.9
18Beppe Mistretta1021.038.77629%7.4327-49849%13.621.0
19Ben Kristensen1020.2100.3743%91.1270-12171%-37.953.3
-John McAllister1019.812.32100%188.028789100%-11.6176.4
20Giorgio Caccia1019.312.82719%26.0343-37548%-5.520.5
21Gaetano Damiata1018.847.45716%9.9262-31556%8.918.8
22Zachary Grossack1015.1106.8743%13.6243-36157%26.239.8
-Clovis Dehaye1014.359.8333%75.0150-2367%10.385.3
-Mike Rice1009.0107.3450%78.8233-3775%-38.440.3
-Krisztina Ormay1008.570.630%24.752-967%25.750.4
23Gianluca Lodato1008.1-3.14626%-0.4324-46257%8.68.1
24Jaron Marcus1007.8-33.31947%22.5446-36253%-13.09.5
25Joan Clark1007.1-1.03116%1.3291-29952%6.07.3
-John Parsons1006.850.01100%159.0159159100%-38.6120.4
-S McKord1005.221.010%69.06969100%23.692.6
26Sami Casanova1003.247.61030%-13.1309-30040%19.36.2
27Tamara Hoylaerts1000.6-10.61020%-12.4213-16640%13.61.2
28Matt Dobbs999.4-8.92025%21.5286-29065%-22.1-0.7
-Bud Stuart999.1-41.610%7.077100%-22.2-15.2
29Filippo Lagostena997.1-4.64110%-18.4199-33051%15.5-2.9
-Amit Zahar994.6-70.310%-61.0-61-610%-34.3-95.3
-Corey Robinson994.5-37.440%-6.3137-19850%-18.4-24.6
30Umberto Prestini994.1-24.63936%-21.7365-70659%15.7-5.9
-Francesco Mazzadi992.632.0520%-29.4103-14740%2.6-26.8
-Gabriel Feldstein992.5-76.420%-29.562-12150%-36.8-66.3
31Sally Woolsey992.5-50.71030%-5.4231-32050%-9.0-14.4
32Josh Richards985.14.54918%-0.7304-38743%-14.3-15.0
-Michael Wilkinson984.980.910%-266.0-266-2660%-2.2-268.2
33Jill Levin984.115.73321%-43.1273-56248%26.9-16.2
34Alessandro Colombo983.22.83617%-16.7262-23836%-0.3-17.0
-Nancy Stuart982.8-196.910%-334.0-334-3340%29.2-304.8
-John Rebardo982.126.220%-229.5-189-2700%70.2-159.3
35Stan Schenker980.8-2.03523%-31.4238-37337%11.9-19.5
36Patric Sierzega971.2-13.911314%-25.9288-46844%-2.8-28.8
37Sarina Chaiken950.1-71.83818%-46.6265-36442%-3.7-50.2
38Tsahi Maimon946.2-48.29013%-60.5304-52837%6.8-53.8
39Jackie Smith944.6-100.97319%-30.1333-55245%-25.3-55.4
40Beryel Dorscht933.6-75.74226%-78.1320-89338%11.6-66.5
41Maree Crawford928.7-109.1339%-42.3169-30142%-30.4-72.7
42Giorgio Peterlongo911.5-90.47311%-103.2185-44630%14.7-88.5
43Lori M905.1-134.45313%-88.2270-60030%-6.8-95.0
44Barbie W897.9-106.8427%-93.3265-44031%-9.0-102.4

Hall of Fame, March 2023

Highest scores achieved over the period:

Name Result
 Jaron Marcus446
 Rosalind Lin441
 Mark Tynkov432
 Tracey B417
 Tracey B416

Hall of Shame, March 2023

Lowest scores over the period:

Name Result
 Beryel Dorscht-893
 Umberto Prestini-706
 Lori M-600
 Lori M-584
 Umberto Prestini-575