Barbu Rules

Online Barbu

Online Barbu Ladder

Barbu History

Barbu Articles

Barbu Events

Links, Trivia, Photos

Online Barbu Ladder

Submitting results

Ladder results are submitted automatically by the BarbuWeb server. Please do not send in any results manually.

More information

How the rating system works


Many people have been contributed to the creation of the ranking system. However, special thanks are due to:

Gerben Dirksen, for having the idea, devising the original formula, writing the first program to calculate ratings, administering it for most of the first year, and providing useful advice and mathematical assistance ever since.

Graham Hazel, without whose software none of it would have been possible.

Chris Dixon, for sorting out the problem with serving that had been causing anguish for five years.

Stephen Frechette and Aashish Welling, for giving us a brand-new web-based version of the software in 2020.

Steve Altus, David Beer, Lew Stansby, Neil Trentham and Giles Woodruff, for providing advice and comments on the ranking system.

Barbu Heroes

Monthly winners, 2024

January: Geoff Hampson

February: Mark Tynkov

Annual winners, 2003-23

2023 ladder: Ben Kristensen

2022 ladder: Mike Rice

2021 ladder: Steven De Donder

2020 ladder: Steven De Donder

2019 ladder: Steven De Donder

2018 ladder: Mark Tynkov

2017 ladder: Doron Limor

2016 ladder: Neil Trentham

2016 “Zester”: Dan Hoffenberg

2015 ladder: Alessio Isaia

2015 “Zester”: Dan Hoffenberg

2014 ladder: Doron Limor

2014 “Zester”: Dean Pokorny

2013 ladder: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2013 “Zester”: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2012 ladder: Ben Handley   -Pritchard

2012 “Zester”: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2011 ladder: Fabio Lo Presti

2011 “Zester”: Willie Whitaker

2011 “Apple core”: Steve Altus

2010 ladder: Steve Altus

2010 “Zester”: Andrew Garnett

2010 “Apple core”: Steve Altus

2009 ladder: Mike Rice

2009 “Zester”: Doron Limor

2009 “Apple core”: Michael Wilkinson

2008 ladder: John Therkelsen

2008 “Zester”: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2008 “Apple core”: Fabio Lo Presti

2007 ladder: Mike Rice

2007 “Zester”: Martin Garvey

2007 “Apple core”: Tony Nunn

2006 ladder: Francesco Mazzadi

2006 “Zester”: Martin Garvey

2006 “Apple core”: David Grainger

2005 ladder: Jérome Rombaut

2005 “Zester”: Martin Garvey

2005 “Apple core”: Jérome Rombaut

2004 ladder: Joel Wooldridge

2004 “Zester”: Neil Trentham

2004 “Apple core”: Joel Wooldridge

2003 ladder: JoAnna Stansby

Ladder, February 2024

This competition finished on the last day of February 2024. Congratulations to Mark Tynkov.

Minimum games to qualify: 6.

Pos Name Ladder
Current playing strength Games Wins Avg.
Avg. playing strengh of oppo Avg. score adj. for oppo's strength
1Mark Tynkov1097.791.92133%93.9372-28186%19.4113.3
2Beppe Mistretta1089.168.66734%56.7374-28667%32.489.1
3Steven De Donder1086.091.15343%57.9380-27464%28.186.0
4Geoff Hampson1082.095.28433%49.6374-40663%32.482.0
5Zachary Grossack1072.578.71932%55.1287-22263%33.388.4
6Fabio Quai1064.568.210131%28.0406-26859%36.664.5
-Ben Kristensen1064.0111.9580%219.8302164100%11.9231.7
7Marco Prestini1063.853.96028%34.3319-37062%29.563.8
8JoAnna Stansby1061.940.52638%26.9294-51962%39.366.2
9Michael Wilkinson1049.273.61225%43.5316-9467%37.981.4
10Chris Dixon1044.552.12133%13.4272-40352%38.251.6
11Tsahi Maimon1044.119.33027%25.0427-48660%20.745.7
12Gaetano Damiata1041.751.27420%5.4289-28555%36.341.7
13Federico Bianchi1041.439.45129%10.3302-30857%31.141.4
14Marco Novara1038.353.65422%7.7365-26454%30.638.3
15Gianluca Lodato1037.724.47731%2.5320-40255%35.237.7
16Fabrizio Guttadauro1036.644.16224%7.4450-28248%29.236.6
17Joan Clark1035.36.6119%37.7170-5164%24.962.7
18Patric Sierzega1034.838.27523%-0.9315-29348%35.734.8
19Dana Berkowitz1031.351.41921%0.7276-24247%37.438.1
20Stan Schenker1027.516.03432%-9.9258-39853%37.928.0
21Giorgio Caccia1025.615.94330%-13.6404-43844%39.325.7
-Mike Rice1024.1102.2425%67.3181-5775%41.0108.2
22Fabrizio Farnesi1023.723.35424%-7.0246-44354%30.823.7
23Rosalind Lin1022.541.92818%-14.0232-24950%37.623.6
24Alessandro Colombo1021.46.35522%-10.3250-28244%31.821.4
-John McAllister1019.67.1250%144.524247100%29.8174.3
25Jaron Marcus1019.424.27821%-20.6364-35645%39.919.4
26Giancarlo Rosselli1018.36.22322%-5.0277-27252%25.420.4
-Luc Bellicaud1015.759.310%237.0237237100%40.8277.8
27Alessio Isaia1012.669.81421%2.2304-31250%16.418.6
-John Parsons1011.530.5250%74.0214-6650%28.0102.0
-Benoit Guiot1008.433.2520%9.6167-13360%20.630.2
-John Diamond1007.369.330%-10.092-10833%53.243.2
28Jill Levin1005.826.16815%-31.3355-35547%37.15.8
-Matt Dobbs1005.532.8333%3.0168-14933%29.932.9
29Giorgio Peterlongo1001.3-69.91414%-33.1215-33550%35.01.8
30Tamara Hoylaerts1000.4-14.31155%-31.7176-31764%32.40.6
-Yvntn Hlmysh1000.26.61100%124.0124124100%-121.12.9
31Stav Dan1000.24.2922%22.2498-31256%-21.90.3
-Francesco Mazzadi999.528.710%-29.0-29-290%20.4-8.6
-Dan Hoffenberg999.344.910%-46.0-46-460%33.0-13.0
32Clovis Dehaye998.954.860%-31.5183-21350%28.2-3.3
-Nicole Gilmore998.253.2520%-53.6155-20620%47.0-6.6
-Migry Zur Campanile995.465.520%-81.5-2-1610%40.2-41.3
33Sami Casanova985.347.2825%-76.5182-25338%42.2-34.3
-Jackie Smith974.5-70.830%-148.3-100-2200%-3.7-152.0
34Sarina Chaiken973.9-48.3100%-88.470-21830%38.3-50.1
35Arm Pontecom963.1-34.71118%-103.1231-31518%37.6-65.5
36Raz Betzalel952.4-107.5813%-81.4108-39750%-29.7-111.1
-Ofir Rosenfeld947.5-187.050%-82.233-20520%-107.9-190.1
-Michael Yo941.3-517.820%-428.0-286-5700%-94.0-522.0
37Umberto Prestini919.2-28.24210%-121.6440-65933%40.6-81.0
38Maree Crawford894.5-61.2393%-142.388-47013%36.2-106.1
39Beryel Dorscht894.1-98.7190%-142.143-53521%13.1-129.0

Hall of Fame, February 2024

Highest scores achieved over the period:

Name Result
 Stav Dan498
 Fabrizio Guttadauro450
 Umberto Prestini440
 Tsahi Maimon427
 Fabio Quai406

Hall of Shame, February 2024

Lowest scores over the period:

Name Result
 Umberto Prestini-659
 Michael Yo-570
 Beryel Dorscht-535
 JoAnna Stansby-519
 Tsahi Maimon-486