Barbu Rules

Online Barbu

Online Barbu Ladder

Barbu History

Barbu Articles

Barbu Events

Links, Trivia, Photos

Online Barbu Ladder

Submitting results

Ladder results are submitted automatically by the BarbuWeb server. Please do not send in any results manually.

More information

How the rating system works


Many people have been contributed to the creation of the ranking system. However, special thanks are due to:

Gerben Dirksen, for having the idea, devising the original formula, writing the first program to calculate ratings, administering it for most of the first year, and providing useful advice and mathematical assistance ever since.

Graham Hazel, without whose software none of it would have been possible.

Chris Dixon, for sorting out the problem with serving that had been causing anguish for five years.

Stephen Frechette and Aashish Welling, for giving us a brand-new web-based version of the software in 2020.

Steve Altus, David Beer, Lew Stansby, Neil Trentham and Giles Woodruff, for providing advice and comments on the ranking system.

Barbu Heroes

Monthly winners, 2023

January: Zach Grossack

February: Zach Grossack

March: Geoff Hampson

April: Steven De Donder

Annual winners, 2003-22

2022 ladder: Mike Rice

2021 ladder: Steven De Donder

2020 ladder: Steven De Donder

2019 ladder: Steven De Donder

2018 ladder: Mark Tynkov

2017 ladder: Doron Limor

2016 ladder: Neil Trentham

2016 “Zester”: Dan Hoffenberg

2015 ladder: Alessio Isaia

2015 “Zester”: Dan Hoffenberg

2014 ladder: Doron Limor

2014 “Zester”: Dean Pokorny

2013 ladder: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2013 “Zester”: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2012 ladder: Ben Handley   -Pritchard

2012 “Zester”: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2011 ladder: Fabio Lo Presti

2011 “Zester”: Willie Whitaker

2011 “Apple core”: Steve Altus

2010 ladder: Steve Altus

2010 “Zester”: Andrew Garnett

2010 “Apple core”: Steve Altus

2009 ladder: Mike Rice

2009 “Zester”: Doron Limor

2009 “Apple core”: Michael Wilkinson

2008 ladder: John Therkelsen

2008 “Zester”: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2008 “Apple core”: Fabio Lo Presti

2007 ladder: Mike Rice

2007 “Zester”: Martin Garvey

2007 “Apple core”: Tony Nunn

2006 ladder: Francesco Mazzadi

2006 “Zester”: Martin Garvey

2006 “Apple core”: David Grainger

2005 ladder: Jérome Rombaut

2005 “Zester”: Martin Garvey

2005 “Apple core”: Jérome Rombaut

2004 ladder: Joel Wooldridge

2004 “Zester”: Neil Trentham

2004 “Apple core”: Joel Wooldridge

2003 ladder: JoAnna Stansby

Ladder, April 2023

This competition finished on the last day of April 2023. Congratulations to Steven De Donder.

Minimum games to qualify: 6.

Pos Name Ladder
Current playing strength Games Wins Avg.
Avg. playing strengh of oppo Avg. score adj. for oppo's strength
1Steven De Donder1115.4101.92167%136.1343-33686%-2.3133.8
2Zachary Grossack1110.6109.62241%112.5762-39777%13.2125.7
3Geoff Hampson1096.390.75936%94.9465-11468%1.496.3
4Fabrizio Farnesi1068.259.510438%78.6472-37073%-10.468.2
5Migry Zur Campanile1062.875.42536%44.6272-24568%23.468.0
6Federico Bianchi1061.741.54734%43.6349-34264%18.161.7
7Gaetano Damiata1051.848.54626%35.0347-21561%16.951.9
8Alessio Isaia1047.681.81136%70.7310-12473%13.884.5
9Josh Richards1044.513.43234%36.2425-30463%9.345.6
10Jill Levin1038.621.64124%9.7241-28363%29.038.8
11Rosalind Lin1037.923.11937%56.8330-21368%-10.746.1
12Sarina Chaiken1035.0-62.9667%97.7187-5283%8.9106.6
13Fabio Quai1033.860.77034%21.3245-27459%12.533.8
14Giorgio Caccia1032.616.22417%18.1230-24354%17.735.8
15Chris Dixon1030.752.92020%32.9216-20065%3.536.4
-David Adler1026.948.4425%87.518728100%33.4120.9
-David Halasi1024.7113.3250%196.034745100%23.4219.4
-Ben Kristensen1023.999.8520%59.0176-5580%27.686.6
16Beppe Mistretta1020.830.87919%4.1284-26052%16.720.8
17Mark Tynkov1015.890.4911%29.1263-18667%4.233.3
18Hilto 371014.217.75721%8.6466-27547%5.514.2
19Gianluca Lodato1014.11.74821%-5.7278-38752%19.814.1
-John McAllister1009.013.520%34.0120-5250%45.879.8
20John Parsons1007.747.51030%8.8161-18460%5.914.7
21Marco Prestini1005.056.6743%10.9174-25357%2.413.2
-Nancy Stuart1003.5-194.610%35.03535100%27.062.0
22Joan Clark1000.5-0.93017%-8.7173-27147%9.20.5
23Jaron Marcus999.8-31.3617%41.0211-26950%-41.5-0.5
24Benoit Guiot997.522.92218%-1.6201-49859%-1.2-2.8
25Patric Sierzega996.2-11.011526%-3.4270-31547%-0.4-3.8
-Bud Stuart995.7-41.910%-51.0-51-510%-24.8-75.8
-Matt Dobbs995.6-9.430%-68.3-13-1040%41.9-26.4
-Kit Woolsey995.362.230%-64.7-33-930%36.8-27.8
-Mike Rice994.8104.5333%11.3163-6633%-42.1-30.8
-Michael Wilkinson993.179.410%-59.0-59-590%-63.1-122.1
26Filippo Lagostena992.0-5.42811%-16.5237-25532%8.0-8.4
27Alessandro Colombo991.9-0.23123%-7.5213-34048%-0.9-8.3
-Clovis Dehaye990.056.630%-68.736-17133%8.9-59.8
-Francesco Mazzadi989.330.410%-170.0-170-1700%-19.2-189.2
28Dan Hoffenberg988.952.4714%43.4198-16271%-72.7-29.3
29Nicole Gilmore988.748.31225%-58.4228-51225%39.7-18.7
30Tsahi Maimon988.3-33.45122%-12.9302-43647%1.2-11.7
-Sami Casanova987.945.130%-81.756-22833%9.6-72.0
-John Rebardo987.424.310%-260.0-260-2600%37.0-223.0
31Tamara Hoylaerts967.1-14.2714%-72.784-16929%-14.1-86.8
32Stan Schenker960.2-10.03315%-34.1214-29345%-6.5-40.6
33Sally Woolsey944.1-55.4729%-127.7213-35929%-19.7-147.4
34Corey Robinson940.3-44.0813%-114.3151-39725%-25.0-139.3
35Umberto Prestini940.1-32.13225%-95.4350-42034%34.1-61.4
36Maree Crawford936.1-88.05426%-29.1293-45846%-34.9-63.9
37Giorgio Peterlongo923.0-86.16812%-84.2203-44829%7.2-77.0
38Jackie Smith917.8-92.28620%-64.9274-78745%-17.3-82.2
39Beryel Dorscht913.1-78.73826%-84.1319-82534%-3.4-87.5
40Barbie W907.5-105.9248%-84.8216-32017%-16.8-101.6
41Lori M821.3-146.2270%-163.569-45926%-25.8-189.4

Hall of Fame, April 2023

Highest scores achieved over the period:

Name Result
 Zachary Grossack762
 Fabrizio Farnesi472
 Hilto 37466
 Geoff Hampson465
 Josh Richards425

Hall of Shame, April 2023

Lowest scores over the period:

Name Result
 Beryel Dorscht-825
 Jackie Smith-787
 Beryel Dorscht-541
 Nicole Gilmore-512
 Benoit Guiot-498