Barbu Rules

Online Barbu

Online Barbu Ladder

Barbu History

Barbu Articles

Barbu Events

Links, Trivia, Photos

Online Barbu Ladder

Submitting results

Ladder results are submitted automatically by the BarbuWeb server. Please do not send in any results manually.

More information

How the rating system works


Many people have been contributed to the creation of the ranking system. However, special thanks are due to:

Gerben Dirksen, for having the idea, devising the original formula, writing the first program to calculate ratings, administering it for most of the first year, and providing useful advice and mathematical assistance ever since.

Graham Hazel, without whose software none of it would have been possible.

Chris Dixon, for sorting out the problem with serving that had been causing anguish for five years.

Stephen Frechette and Aashish Welling, for giving us a brand-new web-based version of the software in 2020.

Steve Altus, David Beer, Lew Stansby, Neil Trentham and Giles Woodruff, for providing advice and comments on the ranking system.

Barbu Heroes

Monthly winners, 2023

January: Zach Grossack

February: Zach Grossack

March: Geoff Hampson

April: Steven De Donder

May: Fabio Quai

June: Nicole Gilmore

Annual winners, 2003-22

2022 ladder: Mike Rice

2021 ladder: Steven De Donder

2020 ladder: Steven De Donder

2019 ladder: Steven De Donder

2018 ladder: Mark Tynkov

2017 ladder: Doron Limor

2016 ladder: Neil Trentham

2016 “Zester”: Dan Hoffenberg

2015 ladder: Alessio Isaia

2015 “Zester”: Dan Hoffenberg

2014 ladder: Doron Limor

2014 “Zester”: Dean Pokorny

2013 ladder: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2013 “Zester”: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2012 ladder: Ben Handley   -Pritchard

2012 “Zester”: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2011 ladder: Fabio Lo Presti

2011 “Zester”: Willie Whitaker

2011 “Apple core”: Steve Altus

2010 ladder: Steve Altus

2010 “Zester”: Andrew Garnett

2010 “Apple core”: Steve Altus

2009 ladder: Mike Rice

2009 “Zester”: Doron Limor

2009 “Apple core”: Michael Wilkinson

2008 ladder: John Therkelsen

2008 “Zester”: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2008 “Apple core”: Fabio Lo Presti

2007 ladder: Mike Rice

2007 “Zester”: Martin Garvey

2007 “Apple core”: Tony Nunn

2006 ladder: Francesco Mazzadi

2006 “Zester”: Martin Garvey

2006 “Apple core”: David Grainger

2005 ladder: Jérome Rombaut

2005 “Zester”: Martin Garvey

2005 “Apple core”: Jérome Rombaut

2004 ladder: Joel Wooldridge

2004 “Zester”: Neil Trentham

2004 “Apple core”: Joel Wooldridge

2003 ladder: JoAnna Stansby

Ladder, June 2023

This competition finished on the last day of June 2023. Congratulations to Nicole Gilmore.

Minimum games to qualify: 6.

Pos Name Ladder
Current playing strength Games Wins Avg.
Avg. playing strengh of oppo Avg. score adj. for oppo's strength
1Nicole Gilmore1116.660.91650%129.9455-15675%27.2157.2
2Ben Kristensen1093.0100.21867%112.4504-37283%4.4116.7
3Mark Tynkov1086.890.12446%78.9321-14975%16.495.3
4Fabio Quai1069.971.57239%50.7352-27063%19.269.9
5Tsahi Maimon1061.8-15.52232%49.6235-15064%20.770.3
6Dana Berkowitz1054.347.92532%34.6403-37072%24.258.8
7Geoff Hampson1049.774.25328%30.8374-30360%18.949.7
8Chris Dixon1045.955.51937%38.6333-48974%17.455.9
9Marco Prestini1044.850.96425%39.6350-47256%5.344.8
10Zachary Grossack1042.196.2729%76.7282-16071%34.3111.0
11Filippo Lagostena1040.3-0.91718%24.2209-9647%28.152.2
12Gianluca Lodato1036.312.04434%22.2284-48455%14.236.4
13Fabrizio Farnesi1035.656.92642%28.0272-51569%10.038.1
14Gaetano Damiata1034.149.92825%21.1312-34261%14.735.8
15Fabrizio Guttadauro1032.137.23622%17.2436-27358%15.332.5
16Alessandro Colombo1027.1-3.53631%28.1315-26258%-0.727.4
17Mike Rice1026.6101.0838%35.5230-14863%26.662.1
18Jill Levin1025.023.34425%0.0294-36257%25.125.0
19Sami Casanova1023.543.71520%18.1243-25053%14.933.0
20Patric Sierzega1018.110.410026%8.1365-39447%10.018.1
21Steven De Donder1017.685.6825%49.5416-36963%-8.441.1
22Federico Bianchi1014.633.62619%-13.0216-34346%28.715.7
23Joan Clark1013.78.34821%3.4215-54463%10.413.7
24Benoit Guiot1013.229.91724%16.9326-38353%0.217.1
25Giorgio Caccia1012.611.22025%-2.6315-31955%17.514.9
26Aaron Jones1011.822.3633%41.7209-21650%-5.935.8
27Rosalind Lin1009.625.32326%-9.7343-19539%20.410.7
-John McAllister1006.814.2250%83.510958100%-23.260.3
28Beppe Mistretta1005.926.14231%-11.6309-47948%17.55.9
-David Halasi1004.0110.110%37.03737100%33.470.4
29Stan Schenker1003.0-9.74122%-8.7254-23349%11.73.0
-Hilto 371000.514.810%-23.0-23-230%31.68.6
30Migry Zur Campanile999.964.8195%-25.2200-37042%25.0-0.1
-Kit Woolsey999.661.120%-20.5-10-310%17.1-3.4
31John Parsons998.339.2922%7.3242-30556%-11.0-3.6
-Tamara Hoylaerts998.1-15.610%-57.0-57-570%22.5-34.5
32Umberto Prestini996.9-27.25516%-27.5348-40945%24.4-3.1
-Francesco Mazzadi996.027.710%-84.0-84-840%13.1-70.9
-Alessio Isaia991.778.0250%-79.0231-38950%5.4-73.6
-Jennifer Mourgues990.915.810%-105.0-105-1050%-56.9-161.9
33Andrea Abbagnara985.3-2.73020%-35.5239-45550%20.4-15.2
-Lori M982.5-145.210%-360.0-360-3600%49.5-310.5
-Markus Dramisino981.1-60.210%-365.0-365-3650%29.6-335.4
-Sally Woolsey976.1-60.230%-136.355-25633%-6.0-142.4
34Dan Hoffenberg973.844.270%-45.442-20914%-23.7-69.2
-Corey Robinson965.0-46.340%-174.830-35725%17.6-157.2
35Barbie W964.4-100.6813%-69.6196-37850%-13.5-83.1
-Keiran Crowe-Mai960.2-49.230%-287.3-104-5770%50.2-237.1
36Giorgio Peterlongo956.7-72.85518%-61.5342-43335%18.2-43.3
37Matt Dobbs953.5-16.2166%-76.0281-41131%13.4-62.6
38Jackie Smith946.1-70.94813%-42.7300-43438%-11.3-54.0
39Maree Crawford891.8-95.5488%-99.1215-43731%-9.2-108.3
40Beryel Dorscht869.2-86.32910%-143.1138-49928%6.9-136.2

Hall of Fame, June 2023

Highest scores achieved over the period:

Name Result
 Ben Kristensen504
 Nicole Gilmore455
 Fabrizio Guttadauro436
 Steven De Donder416
 Dana Berkowitz403

Hall of Shame, June 2023

Lowest scores over the period:

Name Result
 Keiran Crowe-Mai-577
 Joan Clark-544
 Fabrizio Farnesi-515
 Beryel Dorscht-499
 Chris Dixon-489