Barbu Rules

Online Barbu

Online Barbu Ladder

Barbu History

Barbu Articles

Barbu Events

Links, Trivia, Photos

Online Barbu Ladder

Submitting results

Ladder results are submitted automatically by the BarbuWeb server. Please do not send in any results manually.

More information

How the rating system works


Many people have been contributed to the creation of the ranking system. However, special thanks are due to:

Gerben Dirksen, for having the idea, devising the original formula, writing the first program to calculate ratings, administering it for most of the first year, and providing useful advice and mathematical assistance ever since.

Graham Hazel, without whose software none of it would have been possible.

Chris Dixon, for sorting out the problem with serving that had been causing anguish for five years.

Stephen Frechette and Aashish Welling, for giving us a brand-new web-based version of the software in 2020.

Steve Altus, David Beer, Lew Stansby, Neil Trentham and Giles Woodruff, for providing advice and comments on the ranking system.

Barbu Heroes

Monthly winners, 2023

January: Zach Grossack

February: Zach Grossack

March: Geoff Hampson

April: Steven De Donder

May: Fabio Quai

Annual winners, 2003-22

2022 ladder: Mike Rice

2021 ladder: Steven De Donder

2020 ladder: Steven De Donder

2019 ladder: Steven De Donder

2018 ladder: Mark Tynkov

2017 ladder: Doron Limor

2016 ladder: Neil Trentham

2016 “Zester”: Dan Hoffenberg

2015 ladder: Alessio Isaia

2015 “Zester”: Dan Hoffenberg

2014 ladder: Doron Limor

2014 “Zester”: Dean Pokorny

2013 ladder: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2013 “Zester”: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2012 ladder: Ben Handley   -Pritchard

2012 “Zester”: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2011 ladder: Fabio Lo Presti

2011 “Zester”: Willie Whitaker

2011 “Apple core”: Steve Altus

2010 ladder: Steve Altus

2010 “Zester”: Andrew Garnett

2010 “Apple core”: Steve Altus

2009 ladder: Mike Rice

2009 “Zester”: Doron Limor

2009 “Apple core”: Michael Wilkinson

2008 ladder: John Therkelsen

2008 “Zester”: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2008 “Apple core”: Fabio Lo Presti

2007 ladder: Mike Rice

2007 “Zester”: Martin Garvey

2007 “Apple core”: Tony Nunn

2006 ladder: Francesco Mazzadi

2006 “Zester”: Martin Garvey

2006 “Apple core”: David Grainger

2005 ladder: Jérome Rombaut

2005 “Zester”: Martin Garvey

2005 “Apple core”: Jérome Rombaut

2004 ladder: Joel Wooldridge

2004 “Zester”: Neil Trentham

2004 “Apple core”: Joel Wooldridge

2003 ladder: JoAnna Stansby

Ladder, May 2023

This competition finished on the last day of May 2023. Congratulations to Fabio Quai.

Minimum games to qualify: 6.

Pos Name Ladder
Current playing strength Games Wins Avg.
Avg. playing strengh of oppo Avg. score adj. for oppo's strength
1Fabio Quai1088.773.59037%70.5381-36172%18.288.7
2Gaetano Damiata1071.253.73432%64.9301-20965%7.572.4
3Fabrizio Farnesi1068.060.88436%62.1335-28070%6.068.0
4Geoff Hampson1060.384.43333%47.6296-24867%13.961.5
5Benoit Guiot1059.431.53639%63.0334-24964%-2.960.1
6Chris Dixon1055.855.41553%74.5370-27580%3.978.4
7Rosalind Lin1051.828.01619%65.4347-17769%4.369.8
8Marco Prestini1050.354.26532%45.1339-26168%5.250.3
9Nicole Gilmore1044.849.31741%40.2296-26671%17.958.2
10Beppe Mistretta1042.033.64132%33.0338-20859%9.242.2
11Migry Zur Campanile1034.773.91225%38.0137-9867%19.557.5
12Steven De Donder1033.088.33119%33.2232-22555%0.834.0
13Patric Sierzega1032.10.34221%14.4288-32064%17.832.2
14Federico Bianchi1029.837.24922%4.6220-29759%25.229.8
15Jill Levin1027.122.44020%-1.0324-30353%28.327.3
16Joan Clark1023.75.44927%8.9307-32553%14.823.7
17Andrea Abbagnara1021.046.5944%15.3229-23756%28.944.2
-Gabriel Feldstein1019.5-72.6333%101.3280-567%14.8116.1
-Aaron Jones1019.421.6333%73.7171-5967%41.8115.4
-Mark Tynkov1010.489.1425%28.0165-5250%18.746.7
-Ben Kristensen1009.698.1425%60.3278-18175%-17.043.3
-Mike Rice1008.6103.2333%36.3119-2267%14.751.0
18Paolo Catoni1006.517.1714%5.9203-15043%11.217.0
19Gianluca Lodato1006.12.73123%-6.1303-46742%12.46.3
20Francesco Mazzadi1005.128.41217%-17.8274-34942%26.28.4
-Josh Richards1004.313.3540%39.8181-23060%-24.315.5
21Zachary Grossack1003.295.52030%-12.8239-37650%16.63.8
22Dan Hoffenberg1003.249.8825%23.0153-15663%-15.67.4
-Fabrizio Guttadauro1002.638.7520%-0.4135-20660%9.89.4
-Dana Berkowitz1001.845.7250%-2.569-7450%18.315.8
-Alessio Isaia1001.380.130%10.043-833%-2.57.5
-Pietro Campanile1000.7-76.920%-34.551-12050%40.56.0
-Corey Robinson998.3-42.7520%-19.4127-20460%13.3-6.1
23Hilto 37996.314.81421%-14.0329-22343%8.6-5.4
-Lori M992.3-143.830%-43.019-16067%-3.1-46.1
-David Halasi991.9110.4250%-8.5266-28350%-63.8-72.3
-Tamara Hoylaerts989.4-15.520%-121.5-106-1370%27.6-93.9
24Filippo Lagostena985.2-7.62818%-23.9186-40746%8.3-15.5
25Giorgio Caccia981.910.7239%-36.6164-35652%16.3-20.2
-Jaron Marcus981.6-33.930%-99.3-4-2850%-10.0-109.3
26John Parsons980.041.9911%-48.7157-26833%6.6-42.1
27John Rebardo975.919.860%-117.2-11-2890%43.8-73.4
28Tsahi Maimon971.5-32.93123%-38.6348-50255%9.2-29.4
29Alessandro Colombo968.2-12.06719%-35.6254-49042%3.8-31.8
30Stan Schenker965.9-14.02516%-41.6256-39736%4.6-37.0
31Jackie Smith964.4-78.04226%-29.8238-47950%-5.8-35.7
32Sarina Chaiken960.8-63.61118%-82.2236-40627%12.6-69.5
33Sally Woolsey958.0-58.5617%-111.238-36350%-16.7-127.9
34Barbie W956.4-101.71414%-70.0127-37750%5.7-64.3
35Beryel Dorscht940.8-75.2339%-64.1203-40930%3.7-60.4
36Umberto Prestini932.5-38.72715%-86.1210-62430%14.5-71.6
37Giorgio Peterlongo915.6-85.86917%-102.6295-45026%18.1-84.4
38Maree Crawford910.0-88.65315%-89.0259-41730%-1.0-90.0

Hall of Fame, May 2023

Highest scores achieved over the period:

Name Result
 Fabio Quai381
 Fabio Quai379
 Chris Dixon370
 Fabio Quai361
 Tsahi Maimon348

Hall of Shame, May 2023

Lowest scores over the period:

Name Result
 Umberto Prestini-624
 Tsahi Maimon-502
 Alessandro Colombo-490
 Jackie Smith-479
 Gianluca Lodato-467