Barbu Rules

Online Barbu

Online Barbu Ladder

Barbu History

Barbu Articles

Barbu Events

Links, Trivia, Photos

Online Barbu Ladder

Submitting results

Ladder results are submitted automatically by the BarbuWeb server. Please do not send in any results manually.

More information

How the rating system works


Many people have been contributed to the creation of the ranking system. However, special thanks are due to:

Gerben Dirksen, for having the idea, devising the original formula, writing the first program to calculate ratings, administering it for most of the first year, and providing useful advice and mathematical assistance ever since.

Graham Hazel, without whose software none of it would have been possible.

Chris Dixon, for sorting out the problem with serving that had been causing anguish for five years.

Stephen Frechette and Aashish Welling, for giving us a brand-new web-based version of the software in 2020.

Steve Altus, David Beer, Lew Stansby, Neil Trentham and Giles Woodruff, for providing advice and comments on the ranking system.

Barbu Heroes

Monthly winners, 2024

January: Geoff Hampson

February: Mark Tynkov

March: Dana Berkowitz

April: Geoff Hampson

Annual winners, 2003-23

2023 ladder: Ben Kristensen

2022 ladder: Mike Rice

2021 ladder: Steven De Donder

2020 ladder: Steven De Donder

2019 ladder: Steven De Donder

2018 ladder: Mark Tynkov

2017 ladder: Doron Limor

2016 ladder: Neil Trentham

2016 “Zester”: Dan Hoffenberg

2015 ladder: Alessio Isaia

2015 “Zester”: Dan Hoffenberg

2014 ladder: Doron Limor

2014 “Zester”: Dean Pokorny

2013 ladder: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2013 “Zester”: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2012 ladder: Ben Handley   -Pritchard

2012 “Zester”: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2011 ladder: Fabio Lo Presti

2011 “Zester”: Willie Whitaker

2011 “Apple core”: Steve Altus

2010 ladder: Steve Altus

2010 “Zester”: Andrew Garnett

2010 “Apple core”: Steve Altus

2009 ladder: Mike Rice

2009 “Zester”: Doron Limor

2009 “Apple core”: Michael Wilkinson

2008 ladder: John Therkelsen

2008 “Zester”: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2008 “Apple core”: Fabio Lo Presti

2007 ladder: Mike Rice

2007 “Zester”: Martin Garvey

2007 “Apple core”: Tony Nunn

2006 ladder: Francesco Mazzadi

2006 “Zester”: Martin Garvey

2006 “Apple core”: David Grainger

2005 ladder: Jérome Rombaut

2005 “Zester”: Martin Garvey

2005 “Apple core”: Jérome Rombaut

2004 ladder: Joel Wooldridge

2004 “Zester”: Neil Trentham

2004 “Apple core”: Joel Wooldridge

2003 ladder: JoAnna Stansby

Ladder, April 2024

This competition finished on the last day of April 2024. Congratulations to Geoff Hampson.

Minimum games to qualify: 6.

Pos Name Ladder
Current playing strength Games Wins Avg.
Avg. playing strengh of oppo Avg. score adj. for oppo's strength
1Geoff Hampson1113.688.23847%90.1381-26279%24.3114.4
2Dana Berkowitz1074.163.22741%48.3340-29470%30.378.5
3Mark Tynkov1064.686.21540%68.7258-20173%22.290.8
4Steven De Donder1054.481.35030%44.6334-43372%9.954.4
5Fabio Quai1052.255.010928%25.4367-43563%26.852.2
-Nicole Gilmore1051.357.7560%151.625066100%34.0185.6
6Fabrizio Farnesi1048.636.87529%24.9325-34155%23.748.6
7Zachary Grossack1048.084.5667%121.8271-15783%24.4146.2
8Rosalind Lin1047.345.52825%20.5203-27761%29.149.7
9Ben Handley-Pritchard1044.181.91450%35.6271-33071%29.565.0
10Gianluca Lodato1041.524.65332%15.9258-29158%25.641.5
11Jill Levin1041.328.75618%6.7338-49659%34.641.3
12Jaron Marcus1039.225.65426%4.9297-30450%34.339.2
13Matt Dobbs1035.336.52623%5.0386-28254%32.837.8
14Marco Novara1034.347.86027%19.9317-30852%14.434.3
15Patric Sierzega1032.140.16620%7.9362-42555%24.132.1
16Stan Schenker1031.918.53824%11.9404-39153%20.332.2
17Marco Prestini1030.641.18630%17.3360-33649%13.330.6
18Alessandro Colombo1030.44.5786%65.7176-27686%14.480.2
19Beppe Mistretta1029.152.85726%8.6301-33956%20.529.1
20Federico Bianchi1027.950.13529%3.5454-27649%24.728.3
21Ben Kristensen1026.2113.3729%59.1227-21486%9.868.9
-John McAllister1023.611.5450%91.317719100%14.7105.9
22Silvia Saccomanno1023.2-4.95417%0.0276-32052%23.223.2
23Tamara Hoylaerts1018.7-12.0813%38.8114-8288%4.943.6
24Tsahi Maimon1016.46.18328%4.6451-57355%11.816.4
25Michael Wilkinson1015.456.23327%-10.2338-44558%25.915.7
26John Parsons1013.130.1922%12.9244-30944%14.627.5
-Adam Grossack1012.552.01100%232.0232232100%-10.2221.8
27Benoit Guiot1011.525.2729%2.4222-20743%27.830.2
28JoAnna Stansby1010.831.22214%-11.4337-20050%23.612.2
-John Diamond1010.765.8250%69.011721100%25.794.7
29Gaetano Damiata1008.236.35120%-13.5271-33345%21.88.2
-Goran Cekol1008.171.210%131.0131131100%12.8143.8
-Clovis Dehaye1005.350.5250%21.5188-14550%25.747.2
-Sami Casanova1003.945.4425%-14.5184-13625%32.117.6
-Francesco Mazzadi1003.228.410%49.04949100%7.656.6
30Filippo Lagostena1002.0-9.81527%-5.7269-28047%8.52.9
31Joan Clark1001.52.72516%-17.7245-26652%19.41.6
32Maree Crawford1001.1-35.15924%-16.8341-44344%17.81.1
33Migry Zur Campanile1000.062.0729%-36.1200-29643%36.20.0
-Aaron Jones997.918.010%-54.0-54-540%16.6-37.4
-Sarit Betzalel997.5-78.6250%-44.5157-24650%22.4-22.1
-Corey Robinson995.8-47.410%-107.0-107-1070%33.1-73.9
-Mike Rice994.599.320%-69.590-22950%21.0-48.5
34Jackie Smith994.2-57.62520%-13.4265-18648%7.0-6.3
-Sarina Chaiken993.9-46.610%-143.0-143-1430%34.4-108.6
-Alessio Isaia983.869.610%-271.0-271-2710%-16.2-287.2
-Michael Yo981.1-140.8425%-29.5145-26750%-55.4-84.9
36Stav Dan980.811.4617%8.599-7150%-67.0-58.5
37Giorgio Caccia973.87.12512%-56.1121-37640%27.7-28.4
38Umberto Prestini968.6-19.91533%-64.3311-38540%20.1-44.2
39Chris Dixon966.539.91010%-72.683-20420%8.2-64.4
40Jennifer Mourgues956.57.31712%-82.5283-47135%26.1-56.4
-Orly Weil953.0-314.430%-274.013-48333%-5.7-279.7
41Aharon Shaked951.4-169.8825%-79.0201-30325%-34.4-113.4
42Yaron Yaron947.8-103.660%-118.2105-32717%-40.8-159.0
43Giorgio Peterlongo944.1-64.22910%-78.4131-46034%20.2-58.2
44Raz Betzalel936.3-69.25513%-67.6354-55333%3.9-63.7
45Ofir Rosenfeld935.1-121.370%-153.738-48629%-17.5-171.2
46Beryel Dorscht878.4-107.0258%-144.8219-38320%13.0-131.8

Hall of Fame, April 2024

Highest scores achieved over the period:

Name Result
 Federico Bianchi454
 Tsahi Maimon451
 Stan Schenker404
 Matt Dobbs386

Hall of Shame, April 2024

Lowest scores over the period:

Name Result
 Tsahi Maimon-573
 Raz Betzalel-553
 Tsahi Maimon-538
 Jill Levin-496
 Ofir Rosenfeld-486