Barbu Rules

Online Barbu

Online Barbu Ladder

Barbu History

Barbu Articles

Barbu Events

Links, Trivia, Photos

Online Barbu Ladder

Submitting results

Ladder results are submitted automatically by the BarbuWeb server. Please do not send in any results manually.

More information

How the rating system works


Many people have been contributed to the creation of the ranking system. However, special thanks are due to:

Gerben Dirksen, for having the idea, devising the original formula, writing the first program to calculate ratings, administering it for most of the first year, and providing useful advice and mathematical assistance ever since.

Graham Hazel, without whose software none of it would have been possible.

Chris Dixon, for sorting out the problem with serving that had been causing anguish for five years.

Stephen Frechette and Aashish Welling, for giving us a brand-new web-based version of the software in 2020.

Steve Altus, David Beer, Lew Stansby, Neil Trentham and Giles Woodruff, for providing advice and comments on the ranking system.

Barbu Heroes

Monthly winners, 2024

January: Geoff Hampson

February: Mark Tynkov

March: Dana Berkowitz

April: Geoff Hampson

Annual winners, 2003-23

2023 ladder: Ben Kristensen

2022 ladder: Mike Rice

2021 ladder: Steven De Donder

2020 ladder: Steven De Donder

2019 ladder: Steven De Donder

2018 ladder: Mark Tynkov

2017 ladder: Doron Limor

2016 ladder: Neil Trentham

2016 “Zester”: Dan Hoffenberg

2015 ladder: Alessio Isaia

2015 “Zester”: Dan Hoffenberg

2014 ladder: Doron Limor

2014 “Zester”: Dean Pokorny

2013 ladder: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2013 “Zester”: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2012 ladder: Ben Handley   -Pritchard

2012 “Zester”: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2011 ladder: Fabio Lo Presti

2011 “Zester”: Willie Whitaker

2011 “Apple core”: Steve Altus

2010 ladder: Steve Altus

2010 “Zester”: Andrew Garnett

2010 “Apple core”: Steve Altus

2009 ladder: Mike Rice

2009 “Zester”: Doron Limor

2009 “Apple core”: Michael Wilkinson

2008 ladder: John Therkelsen

2008 “Zester”: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2008 “Apple core”: Fabio Lo Presti

2007 ladder: Mike Rice

2007 “Zester”: Martin Garvey

2007 “Apple core”: Tony Nunn

2006 ladder: Francesco Mazzadi

2006 “Zester”: Martin Garvey

2006 “Apple core”: David Grainger

2005 ladder: Jérome Rombaut

2005 “Zester”: Martin Garvey

2005 “Apple core”: Jérome Rombaut

2004 ladder: Joel Wooldridge

2004 “Zester”: Neil Trentham

2004 “Apple core”: Joel Wooldridge

2003 ladder: JoAnna Stansby

Ladder, May 2024

Minimum games to qualify: 6.

Last updated: Tue 21 May 2024 10:22 (UK time)

Pos Name Ladder
Current playing strength Games Wins Avg.
Avg. playing strengh of oppo Avg. score adj. for oppo's strength
1Matt Dobbs1079.449.44637%56.9436-49770%22.679.5
2Steven De Donder1075.680.53741%62.5272-25676%13.776.2
3Patric Sierzega1065.049.06431%41.1284-45861%23.965.0
4Nicole Gilmore1064.161.01436%59.6294-17871%34.994.5
5JoAnna Stansby1060.236.51644%62.4414-19069%18.681.1
6Jaron Marcus1059.838.36433%28.0317-27763%31.759.8
7Fabio Quai1057.355.36330%30.1390-34057%27.257.3
8Chris Dixon1055.644.41060%100.2312-23280%6.6106.8
9Gianluca Lodato1055.031.53633%30.0252-41564%25.655.6
10Federico Bianchi1047.451.41638%38.6353-23569%25.363.9
11Geoff Hampson1044.685.31644%36.0220-27363%24.160.1
12Stan Schenker1043.922.81631%42.3378-16956%16.959.2
13Joan Clark1043.38.92020%19.9222-28050%31.651.4
14Dana Berkowitz1040.557.04827%10.4257-40854%30.140.5
15Marco Novara1034.648.41338%25.8211-46569%28.153.9
16Beppe Mistretta1032.246.55431%15.2286-28961%17.032.2
17Fabrizio Farnesi1031.234.47221%8.3389-49957%22.931.2
18Silvia Saccomanno1030.43.22914%10.0367-17745%21.731.6
19Ben Kristensen1024.1111.8633%69.0337-17567%4.573.5
20Jill Levin1023.127.42722%-8.3256-46652%32.824.5
21Mark Tynkov1022.584.4813%31.5314-38775%21.052.5
-Alessio Isaia1022.370.9367%126.722557100%6.3132.9
22Giorgio Caccia1014.28.31527%-1.3305-26553%21.219.9
-John Parsons1011.931.1250%79.5194-3550%26.3105.8
-Clovis Dehaye1010.851.320%54.07929100%41.995.9
-Michael Wilkinson1006.155.4425%31.5140-5950%-4.027.5
-Adam Grossack1006.052.41100%73.07373100%33.8106.8
23Benoit Guiot1005.723.41533%-15.6245-26447%23.68.0
24Zachary Grossack1005.780.5838%-20.0416-47850%33.313.3
25Umberto Prestini1004.6-16.61911%-15.9300-44053%21.65.6
-Sami Casanova1003.044.9367%-8.0144-24567%25.717.7
26Alessandro Colombo1002.84.52429%-16.6236-27938%19.63.0
-Hilto 371002.58.110%67.06767100%-22.644.4
-Aaron Jones1002.018.110%19.01919100%16.335.3
27Marco Prestini1001.330.84425%-9.2413-42952%10.61.3
28Gaetano Damiata1000.829.72814%-20.3214-24950%21.10.8
-Stephen Frechette1000.813.510%-39.0-39-390%52.713.7
-Mike Rice999.497.920%-45.5-20-710%40.0-5.5
29Tsahi Maimon998.44.43622%-10.4297-44744%8.7-1.6
-Arm Pontecom997.8-23.410%-76.0-76-760%36.8-39.2
-Giancarlo Rosselli994.46.410%-141.0-141-1410%41.5-99.5
-Barbie W993.9-97.610%-169.0-169-1690%60.6-108.4
-Corey Robinson992.7-48.010%-179.0-179-1790%48.8-130.2
-Migry Zur Campanile992.259.830%-64.730-14933%18.2-46.5
-Sarina Chaiken990.7-47.220%-116.0-116-1160%33.1-82.9
-Michael Yo989.1-137.0333%-32.795-21567%-32.0-64.7
-John McAllister988.59.710%-256.0-256-2560%52.8-203.2
31Filippo Lagostena981.1-11.51911%-41.3285-24726%18.3-23.0
-Ofir Rosenfeld980.4-124.220%-163.5-144-1830%-10.7-174.2
32Rosalind Lin977.030.2378%-53.6388-40241%30.4-23.2
33Maree Crawford968.6-35.14112%-41.9306-50239%10.3-31.6
34Giorgio Peterlongo932.8-64.6336%-80.4136-40536%11.9-68.5
35Jackie Smith918.0-62.72218%-107.6202-53327%14.5-93.1
36Raz Betzalel917.4-73.23312%-103.8261-45330%19.6-84.2
37Beryel Dorscht900.4-107.72110%-136.0196-57824%20.5-115.5