Barbu Rules

Online Barbu

Online Barbu Ladder

Barbu History

Barbu Articles

Barbu Events

Links, Trivia, Photos

Online Barbu Ladder

Submitting results

Ladder results are submitted automatically by the BarbuWeb server. Please do not send in any results manually.

More information

How the rating system works


Many people have been contributed to the creation of the ranking system. However, special thanks are due to:

Gerben Dirksen, for having the idea, devising the original formula, writing the first program to calculate ratings, administering it for most of the first year, and providing useful advice and mathematical assistance ever since.

Graham Hazel, without whose software none of it would have been possible.

Chris Dixon, for sorting out the problem with serving that had been causing anguish for five years.

Stephen Frechette and Aashish Welling, for giving us a brand-new web-based version of the software in 2020.

Steve Altus, David Beer, Lew Stansby, Neil Trentham and Giles Woodruff, for providing advice and comments on the ranking system.

Barbu Heroes

Monthly winners, 2023

January: Zach Grossack

February: Zach Grossack

March: Geoff Hampson

April: Steven De Donder

May: Fabio Quai

June: Nicole Gilmore

July: Mark Tynkov

Annual winners, 2003-22

2022 ladder: Mike Rice

2021 ladder: Steven De Donder

2020 ladder: Steven De Donder

2019 ladder: Steven De Donder

2018 ladder: Mark Tynkov

2017 ladder: Doron Limor

2016 ladder: Neil Trentham

2016 “Zester”: Dan Hoffenberg

2015 ladder: Alessio Isaia

2015 “Zester”: Dan Hoffenberg

2014 ladder: Doron Limor

2014 “Zester”: Dean Pokorny

2013 ladder: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2013 “Zester”: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2012 ladder: Ben Handley   -Pritchard

2012 “Zester”: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2011 ladder: Fabio Lo Presti

2011 “Zester”: Willie Whitaker

2011 “Apple core”: Steve Altus

2010 ladder: Steve Altus

2010 “Zester”: Andrew Garnett

2010 “Apple core”: Steve Altus

2009 ladder: Mike Rice

2009 “Zester”: Doron Limor

2009 “Apple core”: Michael Wilkinson

2008 ladder: John Therkelsen

2008 “Zester”: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2008 “Apple core”: Fabio Lo Presti

2007 ladder: Mike Rice

2007 “Zester”: Martin Garvey

2007 “Apple core”: Tony Nunn

2006 ladder: Francesco Mazzadi

2006 “Zester”: Martin Garvey

2006 “Apple core”: David Grainger

2005 ladder: Jérome Rombaut

2005 “Zester”: Martin Garvey

2005 “Apple core”: Jérome Rombaut

2004 ladder: Joel Wooldridge

2004 “Zester”: Neil Trentham

2004 “Apple core”: Joel Wooldridge

2003 ladder: JoAnna Stansby

Ladder, July 2023

This competition finished on the last day of July 2023. Congratulations to Mark Tynkov.

Minimum games to qualify: 6.

Pos Name Ladder
Current playing strength Games Wins Avg.
Avg. playing strengh of oppo Avg. score adj. for oppo's strength
1Mark Tynkov1104.595.51656%124.6343-15475%16.2140.8
2Steven De Donder1097.388.93954%95.3378-21879%2.697.9
3Gaetano Damiata1078.756.83834%62.3332-24174%17.079.3
4Geoff Hampson1068.772.07330%50.6320-54267%18.168.7
5Migry Zur Campanile1067.365.23636%38.9356-39656%29.168.1
6Goran Cekol1061.470.32726%57.7293-22367%7.465.1
7Tsahi Maimon1060.27.84738%48.0355-42162%12.360.3
8Fabrizio Guttadauro1058.042.43928%42.7239-37362%15.658.4
9Ben Kristensen1056.9102.5757%151.923619100%-1.8150.1
10Federico Bianchi1045.136.44330%26.1304-25560%19.045.2
11Sami Casanova1039.944.41921%14.4342-19047%34.248.6
12Marco Prestini1034.246.94231%21.5220-25260%12.834.3
13Fabrizio Farnesi1032.846.07835%25.0353-37358%7.832.8
14Fabio Quai1031.958.35920%9.7262-36058%22.231.9
15Patric Sierzega1031.222.611531%31.0364-45459%0.131.2
16Zachary Grossack1029.491.11421%27.4305-28771%16.043.4
17John Diamond1027.961.7922%30.6200-14978%28.158.7
-Kit Woolsey1026.363.91100%451.0451451100%14.9465.9
18Matt Dobbs1022.87.59326%15.6324-35959%7.222.8
19Stan Schenker1022.6-3.13027%10.7235-26453%12.623.4
20Beppe Mistretta1018.024.14522%3.4339-39453%14.618.0
21Gianluca Lodato1016.313.05614%-5.8299-32852%22.116.3
-Tamara Hoylaerts1016.1-13.42100%117.014688100%26.0143.0
22Jill Levin1016.121.93926%-19.9278-45844%36.116.2
23John Parsons1013.131.94734%0.7331-43351%12.413.1
-Mike Rice1012.199.8425%49.0153-2750%5.554.5
24Chris Dixon1011.353.01136%10.2290-34964%9.820.0
-Keiran Crowe-Mai1005.7-48.110%47.04747100%54.6101.6
-Alessio Isaia1005.278.110%104.0104104100%-11.592.5
25Hilto 371002.014.0911%-26.1148-22944%30.34.2
-David Halasi1001.8109.510%-2.0-2-20%33.931.9
-John Rebardo1001.619.720%-38.538-11550%52.714.2
26Corey Robinson1001.2-43.9633%38.7179-12050%-35.03.7
27Filippo Lagostena999.5-1.13030%-7.3227-28150%6.8-0.5
-John McAllister999.013.630%-22.030-7733%16.2-5.8
-Anne Jackson998.453.410%-58.0-58-580%30.3-27.7
-Sarina Chaiken995.0-63.810%-109.0-109-1090%19.6-89.4
-Francesco Mazzadi994.126.430%-64.321-10733%29.2-35.1
28Alessandro Colombo994.1-5.98220%-23.9264-34441%17.9-5.9
29Joan Clark993.54.17519%-15.7298-46055%9.2-6.5
30Nicole Gilmore992.852.11921%-34.3164-37242%25.4-8.8
31Sally Woolsey992.6-58.7617%-34.8126-24267%12.2-22.7
32Rosalind Lin988.520.81735%-30.9240-29947%16.0-14.9
33Andrea Abbagnara987.3-9.12726%-30.1266-48852%16.6-13.5
34Benoit Guiot985.826.5813%-45.1251-44538%12.0-33.1
35Jaron Marcus982.2-26.38025%-20.8472-49449%3.0-17.8
36Umberto Prestini972.1-28.94226%-45.6405-44345%17.6-28.0
37Barbie W957.9-101.270%-94.991-22829%-16.2-111.0
38Jackie Smith951.2-63.0778%-41.8302-44840%-6.9-48.8
39Giorgio Caccia950.13.11613%-96.9164-47319%29.7-67.2
40Giorgio Peterlongo900.7-83.67910%-117.6199-53827%18.4-99.3
41Beryel Dorscht897.1-91.5176%-151.1121-52429%17.5-133.5
42Maree Crawford893.7-98.9370%-94.3185-32414%-13.0-107.3

Hall of Fame, July 2023

Highest scores achieved over the period:

Name Result
 Jaron Marcus472
 Kit Woolsey451
 Umberto Prestini405
 Umberto Prestini384
 Steven De Donder378

Hall of Shame, July 2023

Lowest scores over the period:

Name Result
 Geoff Hampson-542
 Giorgio Peterlongo-538
 Giorgio Peterlongo-526
 Beryel Dorscht-524
 Beryel Dorscht-509