Barbu Rules

Online Barbu

Online Barbu Ladder

Barbu History

Barbu Articles

Barbu Events

Links, Trivia, Photos

Online Barbu Ladder

Submitting results

Ladder results are submitted automatically by the BarbuWeb server. Please do not send in any results manually.

More information

How the rating system works


Many people have been contributed to the creation of the ranking system. However, special thanks are due to:

Gerben Dirksen, for having the idea, devising the original formula, writing the first program to calculate ratings, administering it for most of the first year, and providing useful advice and mathematical assistance ever since.

Graham Hazel, without whose software none of it would have been possible.

Chris Dixon, for sorting out the problem with serving that had been causing anguish for five years.

Stephen Frechette and Aashish Welling, for giving us a brand-new web-based version of the software in 2020.

Steve Altus, David Beer, Lew Stansby, Neil Trentham and Giles Woodruff, for providing advice and comments on the ranking system.

Barbu Heroes

Monthly winners, 2024

January: Geoff Hampson

February: Mark Tynkov

March: Dana Berkowitz

April: Geoff Hampson

May: Steven De Donder

June: Geoff Hampson

Annual winners, 2003-23

2023 ladder: Ben Kristensen

2022 ladder: Mike Rice

2021 ladder: Steven De Donder

2020 ladder: Steven De Donder

2019 ladder: Steven De Donder

2018 ladder: Mark Tynkov

2017 ladder: Doron Limor

2016 ladder: Neil Trentham

2016 “Zester”: Dan Hoffenberg

2015 ladder: Alessio Isaia

2015 “Zester”: Dan Hoffenberg

2014 ladder: Doron Limor

2014 “Zester”: Dean Pokorny

2013 ladder: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2013 “Zester”: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2012 ladder: Ben Handley   -Pritchard

2012 “Zester”: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2011 ladder: Fabio Lo Presti

2011 “Zester”: Willie Whitaker

2011 “Apple core”: Steve Altus

2010 ladder: Steve Altus

2010 “Zester”: Andrew Garnett

2010 “Apple core”: Steve Altus

2009 ladder: Mike Rice

2009 “Zester”: Doron Limor

2009 “Apple core”: Michael Wilkinson

2008 ladder: John Therkelsen

2008 “Zester”: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2008 “Apple core”: Fabio Lo Presti

2007 ladder: Mike Rice

2007 “Zester”: Martin Garvey

2007 “Apple core”: Tony Nunn

2006 ladder: Francesco Mazzadi

2006 “Zester”: Martin Garvey

2006 “Apple core”: David Grainger

2005 ladder: Jérome Rombaut

2005 “Zester”: Martin Garvey

2005 “Apple core”: Jérome Rombaut

2004 ladder: Joel Wooldridge

2004 “Zester”: Neil Trentham

2004 “Apple core”: Joel Wooldridge

2003 ladder: JoAnna Stansby

Ladder, June 2024

This competition finished on the last day of June 2024. Congratulations to Geoff Hampson.

Minimum games to qualify: 6.

Pos Name Ladder
Current playing strength Games Wins Avg.
Avg. playing strengh of oppo Avg. score adj. for oppo's strength
1Geoff Hampson1099.489.54443%73.6372-16173%26.099.6
2Steven De Donder1094.685.54134%77.4478-24771%17.695.0
3Federico Bianchi1052.354.03732%27.4333-29357%25.452.8
4Fabrizio Farnesi1049.940.65638%31.7343-34361%18.249.9
-Alessio Isaia1048.872.8560%164.6244-880%12.0176.6
5Fabio Quai1047.152.76125%24.4326-25256%22.747.1
6Stan Schenker1045.034.87734%30.0402-26360%15.045.0
7Michael Wilkinson1045.055.73727%21.2419-35751%24.245.4
8JoAnna Stansby1044.439.52335%30.0291-27352%19.549.5
-Mike Rice1043.8100.6475%165.3338-16975%31.5196.8
9Jaron Marcus1039.335.05227%11.8326-29456%27.539.3
10Chris Dixon1038.847.01331%39.7246-13654%20.760.4
11Patric Sierzega1037.946.06734%11.1244-55358%26.837.9
12Gaetano Damiata1034.932.24436%10.8221-43657%24.235.0
13Nicole Gilmore1032.360.41225%25.3205-27158%28.253.5
14Zachary Grossack1032.178.1633%63.2328-15250%34.597.7
-Mark Tynkov1029.287.4367%149.0259-2367%25.0174.0
15Beppe Mistretta1029.139.25922%7.0298-36658%22.229.1
16Aaron Jones1028.820.52124%8.5213-30648%24.933.4
17Silvia Saccomanno1027.913.82726%19.2224-29063%10.429.6
-John Parsons1026.733.6450%109.8222-975%10.1119.8
18Gianluca Lodato1025.926.67127%1.7238-52451%24.225.9
19Benoit Guiot1024.626.1743%63.6266-19671%1.364.9
20Alessandro Colombo1022.910.0229%-2.1269-23850%28.126.1
21John Diamond1021.665.3743%36.7211-13857%20.357.0
22Joan Clark1021.39.52730%-4.4239-26148%27.022.6
23Dana Berkowitz1019.554.7933%13.8312-21167%27.140.9
-Pete Whipple1015.469.8250%104.014365100%33.0137.0
25Rosalind Lin1013.622.54217%-17.7280-30740%31.313.6
-Federico Iavicoli1012.359.9250%113.5259-3250%-4.1109.4
26Jill Levin1011.222.65618%-21.3217-37950%32.611.2
-Hilto 371009.99.2520%-5.6129-25480%41.535.9
27Migry Zur Campanile1004.157.3714%-23.1278-27443%34.010.9
-Dan Hoffenberg999.644.2250%-31.5159-22250%27.9-3.6
28Giorgio Caccia998.37.260%-33.082-17333%27.8-5.2
-Ofir Rosenfeld996.3-122.710%-93.0-93-930%26.6-66.4
-Ben Kristensen993.9106.110%-111.0-111-1110%3.2-107.8
29Marco Novara991.841.270%-42.940-33071%21.3-21.5
-John McAllister989.37.830%-77.0-28-1320%13.5-63.5
-Sarina Chaiken988.2-48.510%-247.0-247-2470%37.7-209.3
30Jennifer Mourgues986.94.9119%-33.4121-32045%10.1-23.2
-Finn Kolesnik985.2-32.220%-180.5-111-2500%49.1-131.4
31Maree Crawford982.6-26.85419%-23.7303-41550%6.3-17.4
32Tsahi Maimon981.0-2.2258%-37.3203-38248%16.7-20.6
-Anastasia Di Lorenzo979.5-80.920%-223.5-170-2770%41.6-181.9
33Clovis Dehaye979.346.1922%-63.4318-28833%20.0-43.5
-Aharon Shaked977.0-182.510%-381.0-381-3810%-27.1-408.1
-Barbie W969.5-95.950%-111.270-26820%0.9-110.3
34Filippo Lagostena956.5-13.91414%-88.8142-25629%24.6-64.2
35Giorgio Peterlongo945.7-65.93412%-72.8227-40326%17.6-55.1
36Jackie Smith933.6-64.5439%-80.5197-46733%13.9-66.6
37Umberto Prestini930.7-26.71718%-116.5229-85435%26.5-90.0
38Beryel Dorscht921.8-106.4234%-107.3252-29826%20.0-87.3
39Raz Betzalel895.5-74.2138%-184.8135-43338%22.1-162.7

Hall of Fame, June 2024

Highest scores achieved over the period:

Name Result
 Steven De Donder478
 Michael Wilkinson419
 Stan Schenker402
 Geoff Hampson372
 Steven De Donder348

Hall of Shame, June 2024

Lowest scores over the period:

Name Result
 Umberto Prestini-854
 Patric Sierzega-553
 Gianluca Lodato-524
 Jackie Smith-467
 Gaetano Damiata-436