Barbu Rules

Online Barbu

Online Barbu Ladder

Barbu History

Barbu Articles

Barbu Events

Links, Trivia, Photos

Online Barbu Ladder

Submitting results

Ladder results are submitted automatically by the BarbuWeb server. Please do not send in any results manually.

More information

How the rating system works


Many people have been contributed to the creation of the ranking system. However, special thanks are due to:

Gerben Dirksen, for having the idea, devising the original formula, writing the first program to calculate ratings, administering it for most of the first year, and providing useful advice and mathematical assistance ever since.

Graham Hazel, without whose software none of it would have been possible.

Chris Dixon, for sorting out the problem with serving that had been causing anguish for five years.

Stephen Frechette and Aashish Welling, for giving us a brand-new web-based version of the software in 2020.

Steve Altus, David Beer, Lew Stansby, Neil Trentham and Giles Woodruff, for providing advice and comments on the ranking system.

Barbu Heroes

Monthly winners, 2023

January: Zach Grossack

February: Zach Grossack

March: Geoff Hampson

April: Steven De Donder

May: Fabio Quai

June: Nicole Gilmore

July: Mark Tynkov

August: Steven De Donder

Annual winners, 2003-22

2022 ladder: Mike Rice

2021 ladder: Steven De Donder

2020 ladder: Steven De Donder

2019 ladder: Steven De Donder

2018 ladder: Mark Tynkov

2017 ladder: Doron Limor

2016 ladder: Neil Trentham

2016 “Zester”: Dan Hoffenberg

2015 ladder: Alessio Isaia

2015 “Zester”: Dan Hoffenberg

2014 ladder: Doron Limor

2014 “Zester”: Dean Pokorny

2013 ladder: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2013 “Zester”: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2012 ladder: Ben Handley   -Pritchard

2012 “Zester”: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2011 ladder: Fabio Lo Presti

2011 “Zester”: Willie Whitaker

2011 “Apple core”: Steve Altus

2010 ladder: Steve Altus

2010 “Zester”: Andrew Garnett

2010 “Apple core”: Steve Altus

2009 ladder: Mike Rice

2009 “Zester”: Doron Limor

2009 “Apple core”: Michael Wilkinson

2008 ladder: John Therkelsen

2008 “Zester”: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2008 “Apple core”: Fabio Lo Presti

2007 ladder: Mike Rice

2007 “Zester”: Martin Garvey

2007 “Apple core”: Tony Nunn

2006 ladder: Francesco Mazzadi

2006 “Zester”: Martin Garvey

2006 “Apple core”: David Grainger

2005 ladder: Jérome Rombaut

2005 “Zester”: Martin Garvey

2005 “Apple core”: Jérome Rombaut

2004 ladder: Joel Wooldridge

2004 “Zester”: Neil Trentham

2004 “Apple core”: Joel Wooldridge

2003 ladder: JoAnna Stansby

Ladder, August 2023

This competition finished on the last day of August 2023. Congratulations to Steven De Donder.

Minimum games to qualify: 6.

Pos Name Ladder
Current playing strength Games Wins Avg.
Avg. playing strengh of oppo Avg. score adj. for oppo's strength
1Steven De Donder1118.095.91856%130.9292-8094%17.2148.1
2Mike Rice1109.0103.02348%110.7399-17174%10.9121.7
3Fabio Quai1095.670.86737%72.7430-23267%22.995.6
4Mark Tynkov1090.595.13642%87.0388-25469%4.591.5
5Goran Cekol1088.074.64734%70.4355-14566%17.788.1
6Geoff Hampson1087.076.75643%64.6294-36870%22.487.0
7Gaetano Damiata1074.961.94736%60.6394-28768%14.374.9
8John Diamond1072.664.62433%60.9457-22754%18.879.8
9Zachary Grossack1059.986.72442%44.2358-29454%21.665.8
10Fabrizio Guttadauro1050.745.47240%38.8385-25061%11.950.7
11Sami Casanova1046.144.92921%25.0224-62366%23.048.0
12Migry Zur Campanile1044.566.61020%55.6307-11060%29.885.4
13Marco Prestini1041.747.91619%36.0219-11163%20.256.2
14John Parsons1039.434.05934%33.4294-25359%6.039.4
15Federico Bianchi1029.033.56528%8.6337-45358%20.429.0
16Patric Sierzega1026.226.59622%18.5277-48561%7.726.2
17Fabrizio Farnesi1023.632.311530%15.8555-51957%7.823.6
-Ben Kristensen1023.5104.02100%174.5202147100%34.1208.6
18Chris Dixon1020.351.51225%15.1150-22758%18.533.6
19Matt Dobbs1019.216.611424%10.6422-38952%8.619.2
20Rosalind Lin1015.519.95428%-5.7303-28746%21.115.5
-David Halasi1014.3110.61100%234.0234234100%19.1253.1
21Sarina Chaiken1013.5-56.61020%11.5157-16750%14.425.9
22Tsahi Maimon1013.38.53023%-0.6382-45350%14.413.7
-Aaron Jones1007.623.21100%139.0139139100%-4.5134.5
23Nicole Gilmore1006.550.860%1.0134-9033%18.719.7
24Jill Levin1002.617.24427%-23.1268-30343%25.72.6
-Dan Hoffenberg1002.544.210%57.05757100%-13.044.0
-Kit Woolsey1002.163.710%28.02828100%8.836.8
25Jaron Marcus1001.1-13.88623%-8.7297-37051%9.81.1
26Filippo Lagostena1000.8-0.92910%-13.8347-34748%14.60.8
27Joan Clark1000.23.07725%-16.0252-38352%16.20.2
28John McAllister998.612.670%-20.0164-23257%16.4-3.6
29Hilto 37997.311.52020%-33.7253-42755%30.4-3.3
30Stan Schenker996.3-3.33327%-22.3239-30652%18.6-3.8
-Keiran Crowe-Mai994.7-48.410%-87.0-87-870%-7.2-94.2
-Enrico Bongiorno993.324.3425%-49.3185-20750%19.0-30.3
-Benoit Guiot990.325.110%-192.0-192-1920%19.1-172.9
31Gianluca Lodato988.34.25511%-32.9295-36040%21.2-11.7
32Giorgio Caccia985.21.180%-64.3141-18125%29.6-34.6
33Alessandro Colombo984.1-9.89017%-34.4247-38043%18.5-15.9
-Alessio Isaia982.873.840%-81.530-24925%4.4-77.1
34Tamara Hoylaerts981.0-14.71527%-40.6186-32840%13.9-26.7
35Umberto Prestini980.7-27.82931%-42.0313-63645%21.8-20.1
36Dana Berkowitz979.441.6119%-65.4266-33127%28.7-36.6
37Andrea Abbagnara972.1-16.73219%-38.9249-39047%10.3-28.6
-Corey Robinson967.8-46.850%-108.8-10-2590%-7.8-116.6
38Beppe Mistretta955.514.51911%-72.8114-37642%18.6-54.2
39Barbie W948.5-101.790%-118.046-55822%9.7-108.3
40Maree Crawford940.8-85.05217%-60.7227-62038%1.5-59.2
41Giorgio Peterlongo934.7-76.6677%-84.7200-52330%19.4-65.3
42Jackie Smith896.9-73.8482%-97.6161-56735%-5.5-103.2
43Beryel Dorscht873.3-102.3469%-141.5295-61020%14.7-126.9

Hall of Fame, August 2023

Highest scores achieved over the period:

Name Result
 Fabrizio Farnesi555
 John Diamond457
 Fabio Quai430
 Fabrizio Farnesi429
 Matt Dobbs422

Hall of Shame, August 2023

Lowest scores over the period:

Name Result
 Umberto Prestini-636
 Sami Casanova-623
 Maree Crawford-620
 Beryel Dorscht-610
 Beryel Dorscht-578