Barbu Rules

Online Barbu

Online Barbu Ladder

Barbu History

Barbu Articles

Barbu Events

Links, Trivia, Photos

Online Barbu Ladder

Submitting results

Ladder results are submitted automatically by the BarbuWeb server. Please do not send in any results manually.

More information

How the rating system works


Many people have been contributed to the creation of the ranking system. However, special thanks are due to:

Gerben Dirksen, for having the idea, devising the original formula, writing the first program to calculate ratings, administering it for most of the first year, and providing useful advice and mathematical assistance ever since.

Graham Hazel, without whose software none of it would have been possible.

Chris Dixon, for sorting out the problem with serving that had been causing anguish for five years.

Stephen Frechette and Aashish Welling, for giving us a brand-new web-based version of the software in 2020.

Steve Altus, David Beer, Lew Stansby, Neil Trentham and Giles Woodruff, for providing advice and comments on the ranking system.

Barbu Heroes

Monthly winners, 2023

January: Zach Grossack

February: Zach Grossack

March: Geoff Hampson

April: Steven De Donder

May: Fabio Quai

June: Nicole Gilmore

July: Mark Tynkov

August: Steven De Donder

September: Migry Zur Campanile

Annual winners, 2003-22

2022 ladder: Mike Rice

2021 ladder: Steven De Donder

2020 ladder: Steven De Donder

2019 ladder: Steven De Donder

2018 ladder: Mark Tynkov

2017 ladder: Doron Limor

2016 ladder: Neil Trentham

2016 “Zester”: Dan Hoffenberg

2015 ladder: Alessio Isaia

2015 “Zester”: Dan Hoffenberg

2014 ladder: Doron Limor

2014 “Zester”: Dean Pokorny

2013 ladder: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2013 “Zester”: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2012 ladder: Ben Handley   -Pritchard

2012 “Zester”: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2011 ladder: Fabio Lo Presti

2011 “Zester”: Willie Whitaker

2011 “Apple core”: Steve Altus

2010 ladder: Steve Altus

2010 “Zester”: Andrew Garnett

2010 “Apple core”: Steve Altus

2009 ladder: Mike Rice

2009 “Zester”: Doron Limor

2009 “Apple core”: Michael Wilkinson

2008 ladder: John Therkelsen

2008 “Zester”: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2008 “Apple core”: Fabio Lo Presti

2007 ladder: Mike Rice

2007 “Zester”: Martin Garvey

2007 “Apple core”: Tony Nunn

2006 ladder: Francesco Mazzadi

2006 “Zester”: Martin Garvey

2006 “Apple core”: David Grainger

2005 ladder: Jérome Rombaut

2005 “Zester”: Martin Garvey

2005 “Apple core”: Jérome Rombaut

2004 ladder: Joel Wooldridge

2004 “Zester”: Neil Trentham

2004 “Apple core”: Joel Wooldridge

2003 ladder: JoAnna Stansby

Ladder, September 2023

This competition finished on the last day of September 2023. Congratulations to Migry Zur Campanile.

Minimum games to qualify: 6.

Pos Name Ladder
Current playing strength Games Wins Avg.
Avg. playing strengh of oppo Avg. score adj. for oppo's strength
1Migry Zur Campanile1107.775.12945%94.7410-21972%17.6112.3
2Rosalind Lin1101.237.83639%77.0336-23772%25.3102.3
3Chris Dixon1080.557.61644%91.5318-21469%17.0108.5
4Geoff Hampson1080.178.36138%56.3585-31664%23.780.1
5Steven De Donder1070.389.35036%54.0396-24068%16.370.3
6Fabio Quai1067.367.411231%39.2455-42763%28.167.3
7Sami Casanova1066.449.12450%49.4220-23571%23.672.9
8Fabrizio Guttadauro1065.751.34443%36.6307-26855%29.265.8
9Goran Cekol1054.068.45223%26.1325-23362%27.954.0
10Mike Rice1053.5102.91040%91.2265-7180%11.6102.8
11John Diamond1052.864.41921%37.0249-17558%27.364.3
12Beppe Mistretta1051.522.33543%21.7282-26557%30.552.2
13Dana Berkowitz1051.543.92631%20.9244-32558%34.255.1
14Gaetano Damiata1051.458.45032%29.0242-41162%22.451.4
15Ben Kristensen1043.6102.11127%71.2260-26864%6.277.4
16Mark Tynkov1042.679.05328%26.6325-40357%15.942.6
17Federico Bianchi1041.334.94023%3.2313-26955%38.341.5
18Michael Wilkinson1031.078.4944%96.7277-4778%-31.465.2
19Gianluca Lodato1030.011.95321%4.8334-37757%25.230.0
-Adam Grossack1029.747.9450%81.01338100%52.4133.4
20Jill Levin1029.219.63617%-8.6269-40250%38.129.6
21Zachary Grossack1020.381.51429%6.4368-30236%23.629.9
22Nicole Gilmore1018.150.1933%4.8225-19267%33.238.0
23Marco Prestini1016.334.58825%-8.2503-56257%24.416.3
24John Parsons1015.833.9922%22.1270-21844%11.033.1
25Jaron Marcus1013.8-2.16919%-5.8312-31554%19.613.8
26Fabrizio Farnesi1013.821.413523%2.6364-43455%11.213.8
27Umberto Prestini1012.2-15.85217%-27.6356-63042%39.812.2
-Kit Woolsey1011.364.61100%247.0247247100%-47.0200.0
28Hilto 371009.712.1933%-1.4349-31256%21.920.5
-Aaron Jones1007.924.21100%120.0120120100%20.4140.4
29Matt Dobbs1005.514.82928%-2.4259-46759%8.25.7
30Stan Schenker1004.6-2.33517%-19.8272-45349%24.54.7
31Patric Sierzega1003.115.38522%-17.3361-42849%20.43.1
-David Halasi1002.5110.110%27.02727100%17.844.8
-Pete Whipple1000.966.910%16.01616100%-0.815.2
32Maree Crawford1000.6-56.15424%-10.1263-30350%10.70.6
33Giorgio Caccia1000.01.01118%-40.3442-42036%40.30.1
34Alessandro Colombo999.2-6.67213%-43.0307-48239%42.2-0.8
-Clovis Dehaye997.155.0250%-78.0151-30750%51.9-26.1
-Alessio Isaia996.470.950%-35.257-29960%22.3-12.9
35Tamara Hoylaerts996.1-14.5714%-28.6172-15229%18.2-10.4
-Sarina Chaiken988.7-57.320%-126.561-31450%26.2-100.3
-Tsahi Maimon988.46.8250%-155.0111-42150%51.4-103.6
36Joan Clark987.6-1.66018%-29.7251-31350%17.3-12.4
-Dan Hoffenberg987.542.410%-275.0-275-2750%53.3-221.7
-Sally Woolsey985.3-58.940%-79.575-31725%13.5-66.0
-Andrea Abbagnara971.6-22.930%-162.01-28733%-7.3-169.3
37John McAllister966.06.190%-99.143-22022%27.5-71.6
38Corey Robinson963.0-49.860%-96.3-6-2700%-16.2-112.5
39Filippo Lagostena950.8-7.4128%-107.775-31233%26.2-81.5
40Beryel Dorscht929.3-94.34815%-100.7237-52125%29.9-70.8
41Jackie Smith897.3-84.75910%-115.0202-65932%12.2-102.7
42Giorgio Peterlongo877.5-85.5234%-145.7173-46713%9.0-136.7

Hall of Fame, September 2023

Highest scores achieved over the period:

Name Result
 Geoff Hampson585
 Marco Prestini503
 Fabio Quai455
 Giorgio Caccia442
 Marco Prestini435

Hall of Shame, September 2023

Lowest scores over the period:

Name Result
 Jackie Smith-659
 Umberto Prestini-630
 Jackie Smith-618
 Jackie Smith-580
 Marco Prestini-562