Barbu Rules

Online Barbu

Online Barbu Ladder

Barbu History

Barbu Articles

Barbu Events

Links, Trivia, Photos

Online Barbu Ladder

Submitting results

Ladder results are submitted automatically by the BarbuWeb server. Please do not send in any results manually.

More information

How the rating system works


Many people have been contributed to the creation of the ranking system. However, special thanks are due to:

Gerben Dirksen, for having the idea, devising the original formula, writing the first program to calculate ratings, administering it for most of the first year, and providing useful advice and mathematical assistance ever since.

Graham Hazel, without whose software none of it would have been possible.

Chris Dixon, for sorting out the problem with serving that had been causing anguish for five years.

Stephen Frechette and Aashish Welling, for giving us a brand-new web-based version of the software in 2020.

Steve Altus, David Beer, Lew Stansby, Neil Trentham and Giles Woodruff, for providing advice and comments on the ranking system.

Barbu Heroes

Monthly winners, 2023

January: Zach Grossack

February: Zach Grossack

March: Geoff Hampson

April: Steven De Donder

May: Fabio Quai

June: Nicole Gilmore

July: Mark Tynkov

August: Steven De Donder

September: Migry Zur Campanile

October: Geoff Hampson

Annual winners, 2003-22

2022 ladder: Mike Rice

2021 ladder: Steven De Donder

2020 ladder: Steven De Donder

2019 ladder: Steven De Donder

2018 ladder: Mark Tynkov

2017 ladder: Doron Limor

2016 ladder: Neil Trentham

2016 “Zester”: Dan Hoffenberg

2015 ladder: Alessio Isaia

2015 “Zester”: Dan Hoffenberg

2014 ladder: Doron Limor

2014 “Zester”: Dean Pokorny

2013 ladder: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2013 “Zester”: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2012 ladder: Ben Handley   -Pritchard

2012 “Zester”: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2011 ladder: Fabio Lo Presti

2011 “Zester”: Willie Whitaker

2011 “Apple core”: Steve Altus

2010 ladder: Steve Altus

2010 “Zester”: Andrew Garnett

2010 “Apple core”: Steve Altus

2009 ladder: Mike Rice

2009 “Zester”: Doron Limor

2009 “Apple core”: Michael Wilkinson

2008 ladder: John Therkelsen

2008 “Zester”: Ben Handley-Pritchard

2008 “Apple core”: Fabio Lo Presti

2007 ladder: Mike Rice

2007 “Zester”: Martin Garvey

2007 “Apple core”: Tony Nunn

2006 ladder: Francesco Mazzadi

2006 “Zester”: Martin Garvey

2006 “Apple core”: David Grainger

2005 ladder: Jérome Rombaut

2005 “Zester”: Martin Garvey

2005 “Apple core”: Jérome Rombaut

2004 ladder: Joel Wooldridge

2004 “Zester”: Neil Trentham

2004 “Apple core”: Joel Wooldridge

2003 ladder: JoAnna Stansby

Ladder, October 2023

This competition finished on the last day of October 2023. Congratulations to Geoff Hampson.

Minimum games to qualify: 6.

Pos Name Ladder
Current playing strength Games Wins Avg.
Avg. playing strengh of oppo Avg. score adj. for oppo's strength
1Geoff Hampson1106.485.61663%126.9278-17488%16.5143.4
2Steven De Donder1097.191.95048%82.5368-26164%14.697.1
3Mark Tynkov1095.985.41450%129.3374-27779%12.2141.4
4Goran Cekol1090.775.55139%66.2338-31169%24.690.7
5Mike Rice1078.1105.11346%111.7288-1677%9.9121.6
6Nicole Gilmore1061.155.9743%121.319262100%39.8161.0
7Fabio Quai1060.567.88130%34.6332-36162%25.960.5
8Zachary Grossack1055.381.71547%65.5387-33767%12.377.8
9Rosalind Lin1052.641.52730%33.9443-43359%21.955.7
10John Diamond1049.765.51638%44.4285-21156%22.666.9
11Gaetano Damiata1041.855.93123%17.3349-26855%25.743.0
12Federico Bianchi1039.736.84326%15.8240-33753%24.039.7
13Matt Dobbs1035.121.95433%32.5348-42663%2.735.1
14Jill Levin1034.624.24219%7.0256-29957%27.734.7
15John Parsons1031.936.9757%80.0201-16571%4.284.2
16Ben Kristensen1030.399.81020%49.7196-14980%8.558.2
17Alessio Isaia1029.271.8729%51.6264-14386%25.477.0
18Joan Clark1027.43.82429%17.7314-31175%12.430.1
19Fabrizio Guttadauro1026.344.95124%6.8335-35359%19.626.3
20Filippo Lagostena1025.4-2.11817%12.7193-23456%19.231.9
21Chris Dixon1023.055.31718%2.9148-21347%27.029.9
22Beppe Mistretta1023.023.57822%1.0368-56154%22.023.0
23Patric Sierzega1022.819.09521%10.5265-40858%12.422.8
24Fabrizio Farnesi1022.622.66423%19.6414-42261%3.022.6
-Michael Wilkinson1021.779.0520%75.213448100%3.578.7
25Gianluca Lodato1021.713.46734%-8.3314-63155%30.021.7
26Umberto Prestini1020.2-3.65721%-1.2360-42754%21.520.2
-Adam Grossack1019.449.3520%59.8203-5260%10.570.3
27Marco Prestini1009.927.27029%-9.0391-37550%18.99.9
-Clovis Dehaye1006.155.6250%26.5101-4850%27.453.9
-Sally Woolsey1004.0-57.410%52.05252100%18.270.2
28Jaron Marcus1003.30.96130%-0.3367-48851%3.53.3
29Sami Casanova1002.447.1922%-11.3236-19844%16.45.0
-Hilto 371002.212.910%16.01616100%22.638.6
30Tsahi Maimon1000.36.71436%-30.7329-44650%31.10.4
31Benoit Guiot999.024.6617%-33.3117-24767%30.2-3.1
-Josh Richards998.013.3333%-8.0228-26767%-3.7-11.7
32Alessandro Colombo997.7-5.04511%-22.2275-41044%19.9-2.3
-Corey Robinson997.1-48.9250%-29.0116-17450%3.4-25.6
33Migry Zur Campanile995.870.7922%-40.0147-36656%31.2-8.8
-Francesco Mazzadi995.326.210%-103.0-103-1030%19.2-83.8
34Dana Berkowitz992.239.11513%-38.0334-40147%27.0-11.0
-Colin Deheeger992.2-138.510%-186.0-186-1860%46.9-139.1
-John McAllister989.54.840%-77.391-22925%29.9-47.3
35Tamara Hoylaerts972.7-16.680%-88.179-27125%24.3-63.8
-Barbie W969.2-102.930%-213.7-48-3620%30.5-183.2
36Sarina Chaiken967.0-55.81513%-72.4164-40253%26.0-46.4
37Giorgio Caccia966.5-4.22619%-60.6306-52735%24.7-35.9
38Stan Schenker949.1-11.4316%-76.7256-32726%24.3-52.4
39Giorgio Peterlongo929.8-82.92821%-97.4246-52732%23.7-73.7
40Maree Crawford925.3-65.3817%-83.9291-45925%9.1-74.7
41Beryel Dorscht909.1-95.8195%-130.5257-50126%19.8-110.8
42Jackie Smith882.8-91.44010%-122.6227-59130%4.8-117.7

Hall of Fame, October 2023

Highest scores achieved over the period:

Name Result
 Rosalind Lin443
 Fabrizio Farnesi414
 Marco Prestini391
 Zachary Grossack387
 Mark Tynkov374

Hall of Shame, October 2023

Lowest scores over the period:

Name Result
 Gianluca Lodato-631
 Jackie Smith-591
 Gianluca Lodato-581
 Beppe Mistretta-561
 Gianluca Lodato-548